December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get Juan

by EvilObjective - Jam Entry

Juan is being chased by a few wrestler mobsters. He spots a portal and a tour bus near by. He has no choice but to jump off the building and take his chances with the portal and catch the Juan Direction Bus.

Drive the Juan Direction Bus and catch Juan as he is randomly ported from the roof of the building. You only get Juan. No mobster should ride with Juan too.

Press D to move the Juan Directions Bus and S to boost
Press Left Mouse Button to Activate your shield for 1 second
Your Shield recharges each time you collect a Juan
Dummy Juans appear occasionally to knock around non-Juans

tl;dr: You only get one direction to move the bus. You only get one use of your shield each Juan respawn.

Art: Craig @pfaulty
Code: Russ @Evilobjective
Sound: Jacky @_JackyTai
Additional Sound: https://soundcloud.com/possibly-a-fake-link/flagship

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#26Humor(Jam)3.81
#103Theme(Jam)3.33
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76
#317Fun(Jam)2.73
#374Audio(Jam)2.43
#434Mood(Jam)2.38
#443Overall(Jam)2.64
#469Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

"Juan Direction," hah!

Really pretty decent overall, I liked.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

Bahahhahahhahh, wait. This is fantastic. 5/5 for humor and theme for sure. That was great.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

very fun! and nice humor ha. good job

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

Good jokes, not very good audio though. Sounds a bit fuzzy. Other than that, not bad.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25am

Love it. So glad somebody took advantage of that pun.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32am

Ohoho, the humor.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52am

Funny game, good pun with the theme.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54am

Really simple and surprisingly fun, but I often got hurt by non-Juans when the bus was auto-reversing.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57am

Good use of theme and pretty funny too.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10am

Heh, silly and fun.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13am

Haha, it's hilarious. XD

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

It's really fun. Love the idea :)

postmodestie says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Haha! Fun actually..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]