December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Terrible Battle Between Men and Turtles

by saulopz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't with any idea about this game, and with just less than 24 hours I made this. This game was developed in Java with Android ADT and LibGDX. There is a Jar executable and it is a multi plataform game for Windows, Linux and MacOS. I hope you enjoy it...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#270Humor2.86
#371Innovation3.08
#478Fun2.88
#659Mood2.53
#676Overall2.79
#728Theme2.46
#730Audio1.73
#843Graphics2.17

Comments

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

The idea for the board game (reverse tug-of-war?) was really original, I liked it!

One thing that I would improve, is that the first screen of the game has too much text - you can probably get rid of most of it, or present in a more appealing manner.

Thanks for the game!

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

For how ridiculous as the AI is, it does a lot to give the game a very frantic feel. I enjoyed it.

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44am

I enjoyed the storyline setup, and the game itself is simple but fun.

OtherAlexy says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Great idea. Turtles a bit too fast.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Crashes on my Mac (Mavericks, Java 1.7):
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit

psc1997 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Great Idea! Very original, I like it ;)
Little challenging and fun :)

x70x says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

This is a fun kind of crazy. I feel like if the controls weren't quite so binary it might be more interesting. Nice work though.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

:D This was some really good arcade frenzy ! I clicked on your game thumbnail because I was thinking I will play some kind of strategy game. And I was also thinking it after I read the game explanations. This was basic but fun as hell. Well done !

timothyolt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:58am

Very simple and original, I liked it. Though it was annoying I could push huge metal balls but not small turtles.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Quick and fun, though getting stopped by a turtle walking in your way was irritating. Either way it's a good job for something made in less than 24 hours!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Quite simple, and quite fun.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

Fun game, well done. (And finally! someone has chronicled the terrible battle between men and turtles! ;)) great work - especially for under 24 hours!

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice game. Controls are difficult sometimes and could be balanced with a little more time perhaps.
Well done anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]