December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stickman in a Cave

by bitowl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a stickman and have lost your colleagues this day, when the mine you were working in, collapsed.
You only got one gold left and there is just one shop at the surface.
Your goal is to get better equipment and find out where your colleagues are.


I made this game with libgdx. It's the second time I'm participating in Ludum Dare and I'm quite happy with it. Needs a lot more balancing with the prices in the shop, so if it is way to hard for your, there's the F1-cheat-key :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Humor3.34
#139Fun3.46
#164Audio3.21
#192Overall3.42
#358Mood2.96
#588Graphics2.75
#591Innovation2.77
#700Theme2.51

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Played this for quite awhile, bombs are fun! Cheat mode add a lot to this. Well done! 5 stars

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Highly amusing sound effects and quite a lot of content. Very fun, well done!

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Fun little game! Even if it destroy my CPU while running.

I found an interesting bug in it where you move the game window, you warp to the bottom of the screen each time you do so.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Fun game! Big world, much to explore stuff, I think I would play this more than once! Well done!

viinnyk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19pm

very fun

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

That's quite a large world. I was amused by the sound effects, although the voice sounds uncannily like one of my colleagues. Good to see that you used libGDX too.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:53pm

The sound effects made by your voice were funny to hear, really enjoyed the open world-ness, good work.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Simple and fun was a good effort on your behalf.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I enjoyed this game a lot :) and there's plenty of content too which is a great in a Ludum Dare game! It's very satisfying finding some of the hidden caches. Even with cheat mode I didn't get far enough to find the boss (mainly because I fell onto spikes or slimes and got hurt hundreds of times in one second (it'd be nice to have a half-second of invulnerability after taking damage). Great voice overs too! Overall this is one of the best games I've played so far in this LD.

Tanser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Nice game!! :)

KEFIR says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:20am

I'm not sure how exactly this game fits the theme but I got A LOT of fun from it! Before I stuck in dungeon :) Really cool game! I think you should make full game of it!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:27pm

this is a fun and funny game. the narration made me laugh :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:03pm

LibGDX FTW! Good job! You created a big world. I'd like to skip some voices to keep playing, but I like it a lot. Nice voice effects :P.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Fun game! One bug I seem to have found is that you are killed instantly by any enemy you touch regardless of how much health you have left - which I suspect is because there is no "invincibility period" for the player after being damaged and so damage is dealt every frame.

stefan says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This is a nice game! I especially liked the huge level and the sound :) The way back to the shop was sometimes very long, maybe you could have added some more shops. Well done!

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

Nice :) I have to use cheat after I stuck in the dungeon on my first trip.. but it's really enjoyable :-)

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice game. I wish there was some kind of suicide button.

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I felt like I was getting the hang of this game. Really into the voice over and sound effects. Impressed by the scripted events like rescuing a survivor. I was feeling pretty tough, I had every item and was starting to dig into the rock when I heard "Watch out! These monsters might hurt you!" No problem, I thought, I have every weapon and even an extra heart, so the first enemies in the game should be no problem for me. I tried to use my sword on the spider but I guess I bumped into the spider because it was immediately game over! So I rage quit.

Super fun would play again if my character wasn't as fragile as an origami crane.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Funny voice acting! I shouldn't have jumped in the pit when I was told it was dangerous...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]