December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Direction

by Techblogogy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You can only move in one direction. Goal of each level is to get to the exit. Controls:

- D Move Forward
- R Restart

This is probably the most unfinished game of LD28. But, hope you'll like it.

UPDATE 1. Sorry for broken links will fix them when I'll get home. Stay Tuned.

UPADTE 2. LINKS ARE WORKING AGAIN

UPDATE 4. INCLUDED MSVCP120.dll

UPDATE 5. ADF.LY REMOVED. X86 AND X64 COMPATIBILITY ADDED

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#313Theme3.20
#610Innovation2.74
#623Fun2.69
#685Humor1.83
#775Audio1.33
#795Overall2.63
#872Graphics2.11
#892Mood2.04

Comments

DiEvAl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Download links don't work.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

downloadl links go straight to mediafire, no file

dooglz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Broken link

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

broken link, my friend.

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Broken Link :(

The square guy looks so eager to play with me.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47am

Link works now, but the game doesn't run on my Windows 7 system. At first I needed to download MSVCP120.dll, but now it just throws a "application could not be started" kind of error when trying to run the exe. :/
The "you can only move in one direction" premise sounds interesting though, I'd really like to see where you went with it. So I'll try to run it on another machine later.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:55am

Ah, same here with the MSVCP120.dll missing :(. Try packaging it with the game. I'll keep this one in the backlog and see if you get it fixed later on!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14am

You need to install SDL

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:18am

Sorry dude, same problem as ShellfishGames and Nelien

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:30am

I downloaded SDL from http://www.libsdl.org/download-2.0.php (tried both the win-32 and 64 bit version) but both only include the SDL2.dll which you have already packaged in your folder, so I don't think that's the problem. I replaced the file but I'm still getting the MSVCP120.dll error. In fact, that dll is from the Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable, so that's what's missing. I'll try installing it later today but I would suggest you look up how to bundle the dll into the package so it's not so much work for people to get your game running :/.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Why did you put AdFly links? They don't work for me (using Ghostery).

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34pm

It's not a good idea to call your folder "LD28", since most of the people downloading already have a ton of LD28 games installed.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Also, can't run the game.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Download link goes to adfly followed by spam site. Doesn't work.

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I really like the game. I see you have some distribution issues like I had, good to see you solved them :)

Espyo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12pm

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to yadda yadda.

Using Windows 7, 64-bit.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Not wasting my time with this, don't adf.ly you link

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Was quite fun, good idea with the single direction. Good start, keep it up!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Link didn't work (Don't use adf.ly links you cheapo)

Kaslai says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Whenever I see an adf.ly link, I want to do terrible things to the person who made them.

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Also getting the 0xc000007b on Windows 8 64-bit :(

crazyrems says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:32pm

bitowl said all :|

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:27pm

No MSVCP120.dll.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:27pm

"The program can't start because MSVCR120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Broken download link.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I finally play it with that fix http://www.down-dll.com/index.php?file-download=msvcr120.dll&arch=32bit&version=12.0.21005.1&dsc=Microsoft%AE-C-Runtime-Library# . Your game ask me for msvcr120.dll . I like it you made a good game with only 1 button and it's not a runner, but I stucked in the 4th or 5th stage. Good job. I'm sorry for all the problems you are having :(

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Okay, now the download link works, but

"The program can't start because MSVCR120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Sylence says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Wow that's a great interpretation of the theme. Liked it :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Finally it works. Pretty fun, but level 7 seems to be unwinnable.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:18pm

MSVCR.dll is now bundled with the game. Hopefully this is going to be the end of the technical difficulties. I'm really sorry for all of the problems that happend

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for solving all the problems, works fine on my computer now. :)
I like how you handled that "one key only" situation. Having to plan your moves and execute them accurately really is something different than the usual runner games relying mostly on reflexes. The learning curve seemed pretty good as well, but I couldn't get through Level 7.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Pretty cool game, man! I don't know if you did this on purpose or not, but did you know that if you reset after hitting a block it saves your movement velocity? (Touch a block, hold r, let go, you move as if you had just hit the arrow block.)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:25pm

That is one of the mechanics of this game. So yeah that was intentional.

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I have no way of playing Windows games (using a Mac), sorry :(

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice concept, shame you didn't manage to add some content... And by the way I can't finish level 7...

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Really neat idea! I'm not to fond of the physics feeling so linear though.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Pretty fun! Nice mechanics idea. Also I ran it on Linux (via Wine) and it works perfectly.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:47am

Hi, i'm from http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=21047
You didn't play my game cause of all the work... I shortened the process, now the file is executable :)
Thanks for your feedback !

About yours : I liked the squared dancing guy between the level ahah, good use of the theme.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:06am

Cute. Having momentum carry over after restarting needed to be taught a bit more clearly, I think, but yeah.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Haha great mechanic you added on the last few levels. Discovered it by accident, thought I spotted a bug. Didn't realize the restart button was actually going to be used as a mechanic in itself. Great job!

Clavus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice concept. Simple execution. Liked it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]