December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Glimpse of Freedom

by lucentbeam - Jam Entry

Programmed in C++ with SFML 2.1.

This is our first game jam! We hope you enjoy our entry!

Programming: Benjamin Hanken
Art & Sound: Christopher Hanken

Controls are just arrow keys to move and enter to select (only at the start screen). Escape to quit.

At the splash screen before each level, wait a moment and then tap an arrow key to start. Be sure to watch closely, because you only get one glimpse!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#40Theme(Jam)3.68
#121Innovation(Jam)3.29
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#356Audio(Jam)2.53
#384Fun(Jam)2.55
#391Humor(Jam)1.89
#414Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55am

The windows link is not working

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09am

interesting take on the theme, but I couldn't figure out how the rats worked consistently

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22am

Cool idea and great use of theme! It's very difficult but really cool! Good job! :)

If you have time please rate my game! I would appreciate it :)

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:59am

@moomoo112 Ah yeah, sorry about that. I guess we got so used to it that it was easy to overlook in the game information. The rats just stand in place and get you if you walk within their line of sight and some range. Unfortunately some of the level designs make it so that you skirt just within/beyond their range, so it can seem sporadic...

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Cool interpretation of the theme, very challenging :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00pm

The rats were a bit unpredictable, maybe if they had a predetermined path (a single direction back-and-forth) and you could catch a glimpse of which way the were going? Solid entry otherwise with a good take on the theme.

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Wow, that is such a simple yet fresh idea! Nice one.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great idea, though I think it'd be more fair if there weren't things which moved! But great fun and a clever idea

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Interesting concept, I like the chain dragging sound.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Awesome use of theme. Very challenging though.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I like the idea of this game and the chain sound when the player walks. Pretty cool entry!

Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Very atmospheric, and good interpretation of the theme. Visuals are simple but appealing, same goes for the sound.
Unfortunately there seemed to be game over kind of thing after dying a few times, so I wasn't able to finish it. But judging from the first few levels (until the one with a lot of open space and three rats - don't know how much is yet to come afterwards), the level design is pretty neat as well. Simple and always focused on a few main obstacles - just what you need for such a game. Well done. :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I like you did not used any of the main game engines (like Unity) 4/5 for Overall :)
Only wish: the character should be faster.

goerp says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Good entry.
The take on the theme was very original and the story was well told. The text graphics and sounds really conveyed the misery (and rats!).
My main tip would be to give the player infinite lives: I found it (like others said) a bit hard to avoid moving characters and with just a few lives you would easily have to start over. But with infinite lives you still would have progress and I wouldn't mind if the game got harder, especially for a Ludum Dare where I usually don't play games very long (sorry).

csanyk says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I didn't like this because it felt too unfair. Not being able to see and having to rely on memory wasn't challenging in a way that was *fun* for me. Still, it was a good experiement on a play concept.

lucentbeam says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 5:32pm

@csanyk Fair enough! Our original idea was to extend the gameplay to rely more on sound and "feeling your way" through the obstacles, but we didn't really get there. In retrospect, using (for example) rushing water and distance-sensitive audio for it instead of spikes as the first obstacle would have a little more on track toward that goal.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]