December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

G

by Sean Noonan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story:
Play as Doc, the survivor of a catastrophic space accident. Use your trusty fire extinguisher to propel yourself through the wreckage of a fallen space station in order to regroup with your crew.

Descripton:
You only get one input - click to blast the fire extinguisher and propel yourself further into the depths of space.
You only get one life to find your crew.

Tools:
Construct 2
BFXR

Other:
I used a song from a friend's Soundcloud.

Issues:
Safari under OSX currently does not allow for volume control, so all sound effects will play at full volume - if this is the case, it is advised to use Chrome.

Plays best in Google Chrome.

PS This is my first Ludum Dare! If you want to catch up with any other jams or perhaps want me to retweet your LD's or something, just drop me a line on twitter @SeanNoonan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#132Audio3.31
#157Mood3.37
#255Graphics3.43
#309Innovation3.19
#354Overall3.18
#383Fun3.02
#530Theme2.81
#575Humor2.06

Comments

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

I was going to make a note about wanting audio cues for the voice, but then the sweet chiptune track came in. Some sound effects for the text would have made the audio just perfect, I think.
Simple and polished.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45am

Took me a second to realize the text grew and that was how I knew where to go. Good stuff though. Feels polished, short, but polished.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45am

This was quite enjoyable, and that song is so much fun :D

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

Short and sweet.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Very well done! I enjoyed flying around and the death animation is great!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Wow, that fire extinguisher had a lot of juice! Enigmatic ending. Could have used a bit more challenge than just finding the guy, but it was fun.

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Loved the audio, and how you worked a story into it. Was this based on the movie Gravity by chance?

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52am

64MB? A bit big for me, Sorry.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57am

Clean and simple, I like it! And I'm not sure if it was supposed to be funny, but the idea of using a fire extinguisher to navigate around space it hilarious! Nicely done.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

I really wanted to play this game until something happened but after 6 tries and not finding anything I'm not sure what to try.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

Totally awesome!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

@kirbytails7 I totally agree, I would have done this if I hadn't run out of time. I had even made the sound effects, just ran out of time to implement. Great to get validation.
@Snail_Man Originally the extinguisher was going to run out of juice, but it resulted in a rather dull fail condition (being simply left to float away in space).
@Baknik The Gravity movie was a key inspiration, yes.
@HeroesGrave I'm sorry to hear that, perhaps try to the web version?
@kbake It's not meant to be dry or deadpan either - so that's fine :)
@Suese Maybe you had some bad luck in the random placement? I am sorry you didn't have an optimal experience.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I kind of just want more. This game feels like the beginning to something really cool!

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Nice man!!! simple and creative, continue...

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Short and fun. Great job!

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11am

Simple and short, but really cool. Wish there was a bit more challenge, though. Like limited fuel or damage from colliding with debris. I liked the music, although I'm not sure if the compo rules allow you to use music that you didn't create yourself.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

great game! the stark environment really brought the audio volume levels into focus. well done.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Quite nice use of audio there :)

CTATZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

Wow. Outstanding audio and use of it. Pretty coool man.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

The feel of the game is great and the ending is very satisfying. Really nice use of audio.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03am

That death animation took me by surprise and was epic. Great job on the awesome music track and subtle clues for getting closer. Good job!

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13am

Pretty slick and well polished.
A great showing of the K.I.S.S. moto.

At first when I heard the music I thought it was the lambada, it took me back to the 90's for a few seconds ^^

Great job overall !

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33am

Well done. The only point is that finding your way is difficult at the start. You should maybe have inverted sound getting louder and text bigger : changing music at the start is a better way to understand the closer/further mecanic than text growing (because text growing is not obvious).

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

This was nice. Would have liked to see more gameplay.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23pm

It took me a bit to realise how to "follow his voice". Great game with nice art.

P.D.: We also used construct to make our ludum dare game :)

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

@cbear_wallis Thanks! I may just go back to this in the new year and finish it up with additional objectives and twists on the mechanic :)
@tchem I think I will!
@BluShine I was not aware this was an issue - I will generate something myself tonight and put it up alongside my original entry. I guess I read the rules wrong? The thing that is important isn't the music itself but the volume of the sound, so I could replace it with anything really.
@nerial I think the biggest problem is that sometimes you start at the furthest point that the font size allows, so you never realise if you're getting further out. I should have reduced the opacity of the text as you got further away. But also yes, the music makes it pretty obvious too :)
@Ludipe Great, I'll check it out tonight!

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Pretty cool. Very nice visuals. You really nailed the space atmosphere. I just wish there was more to the story.

As a side note for next time, Compo participants must create/generate game audio during the 48 hours. Just a friendly reminder :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:15am

Ha! Nice idea and nice realisation. Found it way too hard before I read the comments :D

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:16pm

It's pretty hard to start going in a good direction.

BTW - by using chiptune from someone else you broke the rules - game should have been posted as a jam (therefore zero rating for audio)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:36am

Love the game mechanic. Fun yet short game though.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Nice idea, it's a shame it wasn't longer :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Woo very difficult! But fun!

alvarop says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]