December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Have One Egg

by teuchito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is some kind of text adventure...maybe?
Enter commands in the text field to do things with your egg!

Once the whole voting and judging stuff ends I will try
to continue developing the game, but other people will also
be able to work on it through GitHub!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Humor2.90
#299Theme3.23
#829Innovation2.33
#861Mood2.13
#958Fun1.95
#977Overall2.13
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

The only thing i was able to do was to throw it at the dog.
Can't say the result was disapointing though.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Interesting idea. Too hard to guess the commands, so I had to cheat and look at the source. Doesn't do much, though.

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48pm

ha

Hiku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13pm

The only way to know the commands is to read the source code é_è
And there are not enough commands, but it was still fun :)

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:54am

Hahahaha I laughed a lot when I threw the egg at the dog and he died :( fun game, with graphics, sounds and good instructions it would have been great!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

very mysterious... but could not do anything significant with the egg... maybe more clues will make it more engaging...

teuchito says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

I can't add more help right now, can I?

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:15am

i wanna hatch the egg!!

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I tried poach, boil, scramble, and fry. Turns out all I needed to do was "cook" the egg.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I like text adventures, but this one really needs more commands. For one thing, you should be able to look at, touch, perhaps listen to the egg. Also, if the dog is present at the scene, it should be mentioned right away, not only once you type help.

Well coded and fits the theme, but needs more substance.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]