December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Pixel Games

by plancien - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had only a few hours available for this Ludum Dare, and I wanted something quick. I ended up experimenting with a (very) strong constraint I gave myself, derived from the theme : "You Got Only One... Pixel To Make Your Game !"

So here are some mini games, with a dimension of 1px * 1px each.
1px is obviously too small to display rules, or to show scores... so it was quite difficult to do.

Ok, like my previous attempt for Ludum Dare #27, it's again a concept / experimental thing, not very fun to play, I reckon. But I like to use Ludum Dare to do things I don't usually try.
See them as mini puzzles.

Technically, nothing difficult here :
- HTML5 / CSS / JavaScript with 1px x 1px canvas elements.
- Sounds created with cfxr
- used howler.js to play sound
- used JQuery as main lib
- used Finger Paint google font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#19Theme4.07
#28Innovation4.00
#286Humor2.79
#386Overall3.15
#517Audio2.46
#650Mood2.55
#660Fun2.64
#713Graphics2.50

Comments

Ysty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

These are really neat. Great use of the theme.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Awesome ! one of the best idea I've seen so far.
The games are creative even with the constraint, I love it!
Chapeau l'artiste ! :)

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Heh. The only drawback I can think of is the lack of a volume slider. Otherwise this was interesting.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Great idea, I loved it, but i didn't get game c..

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Haha, nice idea. :D

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Good idea, but only Game A worked (made random sounds). All zooms didn't work and other hotspots didn't work. Testing in Chrome on Windows 7 64-bit. Would have liked it all to work for me - creative take on the theme!

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I did'nt get anything... I guess every game have differents colors series but and I did understant what we have to do with them...

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Ok, A, D and E are quite easy, but other two drive me crazy.

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Little hints for those of you who are stuck :

A : color ?
B : reflex
C : color = code
D : spam
E : find

I think the C game is indeed the most difficult one. It will take several tries and errors, and good observation sense, to get it.

@Tsumei : I realized the sound is too loud, sorry ! I made a quick fix.

@tommakesgames : too bad :-( . I don't know what could have gone wrong, I use Chrome, and these are only classical jQuery effects. I'll have to investigate.

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Very clever use of the theme, and the games were fun too. C definitely took me the longest to figure out, but I got there in the end.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very neat idea given the constraints you put on yourself. Well done

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:43am

I beat game A and game E. Couldn't figure out the others.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:52am

Finally beat the others. I had to look at the Javascript source code to figure out how to beat C.

bitserum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Hahaha, good one. Viva la pixel. It was mostly random clicking on pixels but good idea.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

also had to read the source to figure out the rules to C. pretty fun for one pixel!

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice theme implementation!

Espyo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Loved it! I had no idea what expected me, I mean, what kind of games would work on a 1x1 canvas? But you sure showed me wrong. I'm not exactly sure of what I did on the third game, but I eventually won. Great adaptation to the theme, straight to the point, and the games themselves aren't half bad!

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Really great use of the theme, great sense of experimentation and observation!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]