December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

To the Moon!

by Pickens Inc. - Jam Entry

*Apparently I stole the name off of some other indie game, but I assure you, I really have never heard of it, if you have any better suggestions, please let me know!*

My slightly unfinished game, still playable! As long as you don't mind the (CURRENTLY!) boring gameplay XD!

PLEASE READ DESCRIPTION!

F1 - view controls
F4 - Toggle Fullscreen

An apocalypse is bearing down on Earth, and you decide that it should be you to survive intact! Unfortunately, you have decided this a little late, and now you've only got 1 day before the world ends! Quick! Grab that drill and get digging! Then get back to the surface to build your rocket to the moon!


Also, the way you build your rocket does actually matter. More blocks means it can take more hits, more thrusters makes it faster. Please report any bugs, I haven't finished this game yet, and will release a Post-LD version later!
Thanks for playing!

Many thanks, hope you enjoy,

Taha

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1678Coolness14%

Comments

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

I was only able to figure out how to get one kind of block (it seemed like I was just destroying the other blocks) so I ended up with a spaceship of just one panel. I also destroyed the bottom layer underneath me and fell under the stage, unable to get back out.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

Yes, I am really sorry - I just didn't get time to add instructions, there is a little bit of a block selection bug, which I will fix later on today! (and fix falling out of the world :) Thank you for playing anyway.

stvr says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:06am

Aside from taking the name of a recent successful indie game, this game seems utterly broken. I was unable to move, broke some blocks, a monster was attacking me, I guess? To no effect.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I have no idea what game you are referring to, your feedback wasn't very helpful AND it made no sense, as I am able to do all of that. Did you even read the description before playing?

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:44am

Game has been patched and now actually is playable! Yay! Also no offense to you, Stvr, i just felt you commented just to be malicious.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:11pm

No matter how much Fuelesium I gather, I don't get any thruster parts in my inventory... Also, how do I restart from scratch? When I double-click the game again, it restarts from when I closed the window last time...
It's a nice idea, I like these digging games, but it still has a lot of bugs.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:50pm

thrusters require 10 Fuelesium, so are you sure? And the non restarting, that is something I haven't come across. Thank you for the feedback, I'll look into it.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The thruster is the halftriangle, the next one is the weapon.

There doesn't seem to be much advantage with actually building a ship since it get more difficult to avoid obstacles when it is larger.

After restarting and getting to space again you seem to have to control both your old ship and your new one making the game much much harder so you have to quit the game and start it again to get another chance. Also sometimes the soacemusic carry over to the new game.

There should be a way to skip directly to the space part, even if you want to build a ship you could reach the ship you want long before the day ends.

It is a bit annoying that blocks you place are displaced compared to blocks already on the map. It is a nice way to deal with getting stuck down a hole however.

If you dig to the bottom you fall forever and can't get back.

You can place blocks on yourself and on enemies to snare them.

Nowhere in game is there any instruction on what to do in space as it is I would guess that you are supposed to travel in some random direction. If this is the case you need to do something about the problem with spawning on top of an obstacle after a screen transition. If you are simply supposed to survive you should disable screentransitions in space.

Waiting however many minutes a day take to get one more chance to guess randomly at what to do in space is not very fun. There is however a secret save and load function you can use with f5 and f6 that make the wait bearable, you still have to exit the game and start it again between tries since else you get the double ship bug. It doesn't help with the basic problem with the space part though, that you have no idea what to do so after searching through fifty or so screens I quit. So if you have an ending I have not seen it, if you don't have one however you should add one.

The graphics and audio were quite good. The gameplay was lacking, both on ground and in space.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

I greatly appreciate your taking the time out to write this lengthy comment, and the feedback was very helpful. I realize the fact that the gameplay is lacking at this stage, and will heavily develop this in the future to make it ACTUALLY fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]