December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wild Growth

by Moosefly - Jam Entry

Guess who's back!? WE ARE! And this time we bring you the most realistic window blind simulator 2013! Actually it's a game about growing a flower in one week. The game is LONG AND HARD and there is a very Moosefly-esque story and art style (if you played Game of Throttles you know).

Last level playthrough: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/122189724/LD28/gifu_v2.gif
If you beat (or have beaten) the game please leave a comment :P

Made with HTML + CSS + JavaScript using Crafty 0.6.1 + jQuery 1.10.2
In case you cant hear in-game audio, get firefox :) http://www.mozilla.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#143Humor(Jam)2.93
#248Innovation(Jam)2.90
#299Audio(Jam)2.76
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#366Mood(Jam)2.64
#428Theme(Jam)2.29
#443Overall(Jam)2.64
#474Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

hmm very hard it took way to long for a day to past

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

Fixed a small bug in the background song fading code, just thought I should mention that. I guess (/hope) that the fix was within the "typo fix" limits.

@olafsworld98: Congratulations on being the first to comment on this magnificent game \o/. We shall honor your achievement by rating your game before any others!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03am

It's interesting, but oh man so tedious. I have to agree that the days are too long, it feels like work rather than a pleasurable experience. Maybe some people would be into that, but, not me personally. It's got great graphics though and moodyness to it though!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Ohh :( I am a little bit sad that I am to slow for the plants. I thoght plants are growing slowlie but my are only dying in secounds. Its realy much to hard. Such a game needs maybe a better tutorial!

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very hard! :D

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

This game was vary hard but it has potential. Try making the days shorter and represent the different aspects as bars instead of icons

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Hehe, seems like you underestimated the needs of these special flowers :D. Even though the game requires some extreme mouse handling and priority management, I hope atleast someone gets to see the ending.

I guess the easiest strategy to use is to just let the stats alternate between low and high, all while trying to predict when a certain object will need to be toggled. Damn that does sound pretty hard.

Thanks for the comments everyone and good luck ;).

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Those days are loooooooooong, but in the end watching your sprout grow is worth all the trouble in the world :D Had a blast playing the game even if it was pretty hard

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:39am

Tough game. Love the graphics!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40pm

@MrTedders: I agree on the day length, but trust me, you don't want to see the bars! We had them enabled while debugging and it was way harder than with these icons :D.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:13am

This is not a bad idea, but the implementation fluctuates between really sensitive when you make a mistake, and quite tedious doing well.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:36am

LOL Bastion Soundtrack hummed. I like the concept and the art. (Also link of my game now works ;) )

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:41pm

This is really hard and frustrating. So far I've only managed to live for a few seconds. Toning down the difficulty somewhat would make it more accessible and fun. Very cool that we both had the same take on the theme! Looks like you guys got in a lot more stuff than I had time for in my game. I'm bookmarking this one so I can mess with it some more later.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Its a bit too difficult even on easy. the health goes down almost instantly from having too much or too little of something.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Really funny graphics and mood, it really got me into the flow.

wezrule says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Nice concept, too hard and repetitive!

atombrot says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Hahaha... The game is very funny. I liked the art style, but also the background story. If it only weren't that hard XD

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:01pm

The game is too slow. Not enough happen in a day o warrant the length of one. Controlling the different things is unneccessary complicated and make the game feel clunky with little benefit.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:28pm

this thing is the most brutal growing simulator ever. it kicks my ass over end over again on easy.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Game was pretty difficult but the overall concept was pretty interesting. Also I was quite amused with the invisible bugs joke :D

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I died while trying to figure out the controls, multiple times. Quite a bit too hard.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Very interesting idea! ;)
haha! Great Sounds and Music! Really I liked it! ;-)

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:14am

The concept behind the game is really innovative, the whole idea is really good but even with the easiest seed the game is a way to difficult and long.

ViliX says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:23am

Great story :)

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Whoa, very difficult! Hilarious story, loved the writing. Didn't get past the easy seed. :(

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:03am

You're my 100th entry rated !

A lot of things going on in the same time in your game, very fast (even with the easy seed) so hard to play it. Maybe adding keyboard shortcuts ?

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:43am

Arr. It would be nice if the "easy" seed lived up to its name. Perhaps a more apt moniker may be: the "blind apocalyptic rage-inducing" seed. You have sown this in my brain, you evil strangers.

Tomorrow: you shall wake to naught but dusty, sun-scorched earth, tuneless humming, and two to three rulers that slap your knuckles and nose if you ever stop dancing.

A fitting end.

plancien says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:40pm

It's way too hard, but great concept, great graphics and great audio.
Like others, I agree : a day it too long

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I liked the concept and art work of the game but even on the easy seed it was hard as there was a lot of stuff to do at once sometimes.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I found it a bit difficult too. I felt a bit overwhelmed, and thought the learning curve to ease into the game could be a bit more gentle. Nice graphics, it's got a nice whimsical aspect to it. :)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 2:08am

@Several: We offer our humble apologies for the pain and suffering we have inflicted upon you. Too bad that apology awaits at the end of the game, mwahaha! Seriously though, that comment made our day.

Thanks to everyone for playing, rating (low I bet, boohoo) and commenting! I hope we will keep on improving so that our next game is a little easier to grasp, play and rate.

See you next time!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]