December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sweat Marathon

by oxysoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Plot:
You are playing as an overweight man named Eugene.
Eugene must get to various locations on the levels (for some reasons)
It's very hot outside, make sure to keep your shirt dry, it's your only one!

Source code:
This game was written in Haxe using the HaxeFlixel library. Sorry if the code does not meet standards, but I am very new to HaxeFlixel and best IDE (flashdevelop) is also garbage and slowed my debugging process heavily. Crossing fingers for a better ide to come out in the future!

Disclaimer: I ran out of time for making levels and more cool mechanics :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Humor3.41
#213Audio3.08
#259Graphics3.42
#317Innovation3.17
#386Theme3.10
#408Mood2.90
#434Fun2.95
#584Overall2.91
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

THIS GAME IS AMAZING. I WANT MORE LEVELS. THE ENGINE IS HERE.

lilyoyo12 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Lmfao funny as fudge! Nice game dude! :P

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Love the interpretation of the theme.

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Great use of theme, great use of haxeflixel, especially like the main character animation :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Incredibly boring, and fat guy humour is one of the lowest forms thereof.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

EPIC WIN SCREEN! :D Crazy and fun

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

AHAHAHAH ! Very cool man ! I loved ! Maybe more a joke than a game actually. I completly agree with the dude : Fuck his life ! Very surprising interpretation of the theme. Overall, this game his sweeter than his sweat :)

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Clever perspective on the theme, although fat guy humor is not particularly awesome. I use FlashDevelop/HaxeFlixel quite a bit with no problems, if you need help feel free to tweet at me: @stvr_tweets

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:04am

Haha do make more levels! This is very funny :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:17am

Hehe reminds me to trhe last summer as was out for a meeting... blue shirt, heavy sunshine and no shadow... the customer was a ultra hot chick :-/ Not the best situation ... love that game. Cool pixel art... nice idea.

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:52pm

kudos for going for the crazy idea!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The graphics are not bad, which made that win screen was quite a shock!

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice little game! Love the mechanic. The pixel art looks really great too, though it should look a bit better if the pixel sizes were the same.

Great job overall, you should make more levels!

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game and a nice theme, quite out of the box. :p

greytram says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I love the idea of making a fat man sweat (sorry...) The music and the graphics are nicely old-fashioned. The gameplay is not very original though and I wish the background was a little bit more developed. Nice fun game anyway.

xhunterko says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:07am

Pretty decent overall. You don't see too many top downs like these. Or at least I don't.

HybridMind says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:30am

Man, made me feel so sweaty just playing. Also laughed a lot!

rosa89n20 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:34am

This game is crazy! but very funny lol! :D

shard123 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Really unique and fun, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]