December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get Hitbox One

by eskivor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You Only Get Hitbox One" is a parodic game talking about the new generation of consoles.

What do you do if you always wanted a PayStation for Christmas 4 and you only get a Hitbox One ?

Fat Gamer, the hero of this game, is in this situation. He wants to have a refund but all the world is against him. He has to throw his Hitbox to defeat his enemies, then pick up his Hitbox again to throw it again. His Hitbox is his only weapon, his only bullet, so, you should be prudent !


(Arrows keys to move, space to throw the Hitbox, you have to defeat all the enemies to unlock the next level)


The games contents 7 levels, 2 languages avalaible (English & French), cut scenes, 8-bit sound & music.

I think when I start it was a ambitious project, but I made everything I planned just in time, so it's a great achievement for me !

I think I can't do more contents, alone, under only 48 hours ! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#54Humor3.70
#356Theme3.14
#469Audio2.57
#511Mood2.73
#653Fun2.65
#690Graphics2.56
#750Overall2.70
#878Innovation2.21

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

Speaking as someone who stays weeeeellll away from the topic you're spoofing, it's hilarious :) I love some of the small touches in this game too, like how security changes towards the end :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

The combat mechanic is really cool, though only fighting three enemies at once repeatedly got boring quite fast. With more interesting environments or other obstacles to consider, could be an interesting game. Humor is neither here nor there.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

This made me genuinely laugh. To be honest I think you could have increased the difficulty in a much better way, and the game mechanic could have been more fun.

But the style of the drawings + the bosses were hilarious.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:12am

Genius.

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:15am

The idea was nice the text that was not just repeats of previous text was fun but the gameplay was pretty uninteresting. Nice idea but too much repeats and focus on the uninteresting parts.

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:50am

I think I felt a little uncomfortable playing as a fat white guy who uses an expensive gift to kill the non-white security staff who rush to the scene when a white guy presses a button. This is really a comment on globalization, outsourcing, and a privileged middle class, isn't it?

The main character became spontaneously dizzy after flying; I assume it is a blood pressure thing, but maybe not.

Those bodyguard animations are great.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:34am

My only downside to it would be how there is basically no change in difficulty throughout the levels, other wise great game! :D

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I usually don't pay interest on the topic but the scenar was really fun, it remember me the last southpark. :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Ok. You win.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

Funny use of the theme. It was really cute. I want to know why China cared whether we get a hitbox one or a paystation 4 though.

Jacic says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

I like the mechanic of throwing then retrieving the weapon.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

Very funny! I like the story and controls! Very cool!!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:22pm

the comics are so funny! but i wish there was more variety in the gameplay and design, instead of repeating 3 dudes over and over and over...

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

haha the most funny game ever! ;)
Macrosoft, Mr Omaha, PayStatin and more ;D
I like it very much ;D

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Not a bad idea, though the gameplay is pretty repetitive with just the three enemies, and the cutscenes are longer than the gameplay (secretly subtle satire?).

Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Nice game ! The names were funny, you made me laugh a lot ;). Great work !

psychonull says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Kept me playing because I was wondering what would be the next boss. Nice to see a game like this with that sense of humor. Improving a little bit the gameplay would make the game much better.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:07pm

It's a pretty funny game, and the graphics really added to that. It got repetitive sort of fast, and I think changing up a few aspects of it would make it more fresh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]