December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uno Terra

by Diptoman - Jam Entry

Uno Terra is a planet defense game where you have to save the earth (you only get one planet, right? RIGHT?) from overpopulation, pollution and... aliens. Also, asteroids. Actually, mainly the last two.

Construct/upgrade 10 different kinds of buildings on earth/moon, collect resources, take care of your planet, fend off invasions and survive for as long as you can!

DO NOT play the game without familiarizing yourself with the play area first ("Familiarize" in the main menu) if you want to understand shit.

Explained in-game, but anyway, basic controls:
>Space/MMB: Switch modes (Selection mode/Earth Build mode/Moon Build mode)
>LMB: (During Build mode) Build / (During Selection mode) Select
>RMB: (During Selection mode) Remove building
>Mouse wheel/Q/E: (During Build mode) Switch buildings
>0-9: Select building
>Z/X/C: Start a civil/international/world war

Basic concepts:
More population=More income=More pollution
More pollution=Slower earth health regeneration
Overpopulation/Too much pollution=Game Over
More power plants=Faster energy generation
More trees=Less pollution=Faster regeneration=Slower population growth
War->Lowers population, increases income, increases pollution

All relevant costs are shown in-game.

[All graphics and programming were done in 72 hours by Diptoman Mukherjee and Pranjal Bisht. Music was taken from incompetech.com.]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Fun(Jam)3.40
#104Overall(Jam)3.53
#113Innovation(Jam)3.32
#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#211Mood(Jam)3.05
#216Humor(Jam)2.54
#219Graphics(Jam)3.39
#228Audio(Jam)3.02

Comments

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Good job! The only downside is that it's complicated. But that's partially solved by spending time on familiarize.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11am

Thanks! Yeah it's kind of hard to explain all that at once and w/o a proper tutorial, hence the Familiarize thingy. :S

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28am

Mechanically solid, very fun. I played for 15 minutes before realizing the game had pulled me in.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

The game needs some time to get used to, and that wont attract people much i think, but cool concept.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Took some time to learn, but worth it. Good game.

zzorn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Nice strategy game! Explored different strategies for a while.

There was no music (or sound) in the game itself, only in the menu screen, was that intentional?

edrache says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Really good game!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Thanks guys!

@zzorn: There is no sound in the game, didn't get time for that, but there IS music. Maybe it didn't load or something, idk? I tried out the web version just now and it worked fine.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice concept. Fitting the theme perfectly =)
I'm just not sure, if I got this correctly, but trees seem to decrease population growth... which doesn't really make sense to me... but anyhow - great game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Really really cool game! Congrats! Got me hooked... Saving it to play it later again! :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

My favorite so far ! All is perfect ! Congrats :)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

The initial difficulty curve was a bit steep, but it was awesome once i got the hang of it. A pretty cool twist to the usual tower defense formula. Also loved the irony that a world war helps save the planet by generating cash :D

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Or maybe it doesn't. I'm suffering from under-population, after 4 world wars :|

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This is one of the most fun games I've played for this LD yet. Awesome job :D

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Boy there is a lot going on for a jam game, nice job! I was playing for 30 minutes and lost track of time.

Pickle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Really cool game you got here. Only thing that bugs me is the fact the moon doesn't orbit earth. Otherwise, awesome job :D

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

Really complex, but great fun. Think the asteroids come a little thick and fast to begin with before you get a chance to work out a strategy though!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04am

Appreciate the comments everyone!

@X-Or: Trees do decrease growth rate in the game, isn't that natural? :S I mean, more forest area=less area to expand=less growth rate?

@Arkroth: No wonder! That's 80% of the population gone! D:

@Pickle: The moon does orbit the earth, just really really slowly, since I wanted to be precise. It takes 27 days to orbit, which is a loooong time in the game itself if you haven't noticed. :p You can move it manually though.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice work "not" making a tutorial. Sandbox mode worked well. Funny choice of resolution. Thumbs up!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Nice job ! Not easy to familiarize with, but it works !

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice work, love the idea that you can control the moon.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:40pm

i saw your game and immediatly thought: if i put some time on this, it'll worth it. and worth it indeed. a very solid entry, well polished and great art. you did a very good job!

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:32am

I love this game

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36am

Thanks fellas! :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

so it's kind like tower-defense-space-spider game?
weird and fun!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28am

Cool concept and very good execution. Neat music too. I survived 4 days 16 hours.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:36am

Cool! But it's so hard for me. I think that I sould spend more time to improve my skills :D

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:46am

Soo hard! I share @Ekilibr thoughts on it. But I loved it.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice tower defense. I like the music!

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51am

Hey, try the windows version please (ld28jam_windows dir inside):
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31663
thanks for playing

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Start wars, make money. Brilliant.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I like the game. At first it seems a bit complicated, because of the many "basic" controls you have to remember. But I think the Familiarize mode made it easy. The game itself is hard though. There are too many aliens and asteroids attacking in the beginning.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20pm

That was very impressive! I had a lot of fun! Great design, great balancing, visuals that did the job. One of the best entries, no doubt! Sound would've made it even better though!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I loved playing it! I made it to four days so far. Very cool take on tower defense.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Really appreciate the kind words everyone!

@Mezzomatto: Uh huh, social commentary. :P

nka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Nice graphics and music. Also great controls, it's good idea to select building by scroll wheel. I wish I had a little bit more resources at start though.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

4 days 19 hours; great game, good refresh of the old tower defense idea. Love it. Please do more!

davisan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:02am

Really cool! Very addictive and everything fits well. In my longest play I survived for 5 days and 19 hours. :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:51am

Great mechanic!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:05am

The controls took me a bit to grasp, but it;s a very interesting game.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Your game was so addictive that I burnt my dinner.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Okay! Salvaged dinner, managed to play some more. 4 days 19 hours is my best. I think my previous comment speaks to the fun of the game, which I obviously enjoyed, but this was pretty good all-round. Liked the music, art, gameplay, and theme. Balance could use a bit of work (to be expected of a LD game), but this was probably the most fun game I have played so far.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Oh, one criticism I forgot to mention (sorry for the triple post), was that the learning curve was a little steep for an LD game, I felt like too much information was thrown at me at once, whereas I'd prefer to learn through playing. But it wasn't too bad though, I stuck with it past the curve and my patience is normally pretty poor!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Interesting concept, well done.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Thank you all! Why is everyone surviving till X days 19 hours? xD

ANd yeah, sorry about the steep learning curve, had zero time to balance. :/

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:06am

Nice - this is definitely the best of the "you only get one earth" types I've played so far. Really comprehensive effort.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:11pm

The mix between graphics, audio and gameplay works perfectly. One of the best games of this edition!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Yeah! Great gameplay :D

anvoz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:43pm

This is really well made.

I survived 6 days 9 hours. I had to retry a few times to find the right strategy.

The first building should be Hugeass Nuclear Plant and one more later. I went full of Chainshooters for the Earth and the Moon, built some trees when the pollution was high.

I don't know if I can survive longer. Other defense towers seem much less effective than Chainshooter.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Gah. Complicated! Incredible entry for three days work! Well done!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:33am

4d 17 minutes, wow this game is addictive !! Really nice game, congrats ! Catchy music and excellent use of the theme !

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:14am

Thanks for all the feedback! :]

@anvoz: Well there can be different strategies, it can be played mostly by using solar plants as well instead of nuclear ones (so less trees are required to control pollution, and hence more space). I know of a friend surviving 59 days, so it's possible. xD
And trust me, fully upgraded lasercannons and nukelaunchers are much more powerful late-game. Glad you liked the game enough to work out different strategies though! :D

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:07am

Very polished graphics and nice music. Controls could be a bit simpler.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:56am

Huge amount of content for the time available, excellent crisp presentation and nice tutorial - the complete experience! Was a bit difficult to ascertain the longer term goals but I think I did ok ;)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Easy to get into, but hard to find the right strategy! Very good looking too, and i like the precise controls.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Yeah! Nice rhythmic music, excellent gameplay, basically it's AWESOME. TB approves.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice game. A lot of fun. I think it's very easy.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:44am

Gameplay a tad scary, but very cool nonetheless!

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:37am

This is really cool!
It's hard to believe making such a complex game in 48 hrs.
Good job! :D

nzgiije says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:14am

Cool game!

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

A little hard to play, at start. But i liked.

somepx says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Very catchy music! I like the concept to be able to build on Earth & Moon, asteroids really scared me at first! :D

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

very interesting and good game

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:11am

Very cool game. Only managed to last a little over 4 days though. Nice audio. Took me a while to realize you could remove structures though.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Woah, thanks everyone! :D

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:48pm

My favourite game so far! Amazingly fun to play, great music, great everything. Loved it!

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Well that was fun. Reminds me a lot of missile command. Great game and very well polished. 5 stars congrats Dipto great entry

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:27pm

An excellent game. My browser had trouble showing all the details on the screen, but other than that: really enjoyed playing.

Well done.

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Good idea, i liked it!

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great music and art, got a tad confused with the controls the first run. Good luck! :)

Threef says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I was enjoying it!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:44am

Strega:
Cool concept! There's so much content in this game. I feel like a more mouse driven interaction would have made the game more playable for me. My left hand was stumbling all over the keys at first.

(this is a team account)

Diptoman says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:21am

Thanks a lot guys!

@CosmicAdventureSquad: Everything apart from rotation/revolution can be done with the mouse, the keys are just extra. :S

(This is a team account as well. xD )

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Not a big fan of the genre but very well executed, congrats!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:51pm

nice work! a little hard and complicated, but fun and intriguing.

cwkx says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Awesome work, loved the polish and music. Good balance of multiple complex mechanics.

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I played for 15 minutes then I realized I can build stuff on the Moon too! Nice execution. :)

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:10am

Man love the idea. If that was my game I would keep working on it.

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very solid entry, just a tad overwhelming at first. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]