December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Place.

by koe415 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About a bird's struggle to maintain family through life.

Controls:

Arrows to move.
Space to flap wings.
C to interact.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Mood3.69
#97Overall3.67
#156Graphics3.72
#176Innovation3.44
#337Fun3.11
#604Theme2.67
#644Audio2.13
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

This was interesting entry. Wish there had been more sounds or music or anything. And bit more things to interact with. There wasn't much, but it was was interesting experience to explore the world and just see what happens.

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56am

Really loved this game. The art and animations are simple but work great and the level design is simply fantastic. Also, a piece of advice: rate at least 5 games or so... this game deserves some feedback/reviews/kudos.

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

I played it in newgrounds. You should put a link to that here. People rarely rate the games that are only download

koe415 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27am

@AdventureIslands - Yeah music and more sounds would definitely help this game but I just ran out of time in completing everything I needed. Regardless, thanks for playing!

@Ozeotropo - Thanks for the heads up! I changed around the links I have up to make it clear that it's actually a newgrounds link instead of a windows install.

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:31am

I like the movement and the interaction... Interesting little time-water, good job

NoNoBattle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59pm

amazing game .. one of my favourites so far.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Without a doubt my favourite entry so far (and I've rated over 100 games so far). Very emotional, excellent level design, beautiful art and simply a great captivating narrative. I can't imagine how it feel to be a bird but this gets pretty close to it. Well done.

jayemjee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:44am

That was really cool! I got here by following the link from when you commented on my game, and I'm glad I did. I'm really impressed with the art style of it: simple, but very effective. The design of the levels was also interesting without being frustrating. I'm not entirely sure I understand how this ties into the theme, but I could see a few possibilities, so that's okay.

Also, I beat the high score you left on my game. :P

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Oh, now this is a very good example of word-less storytelling. At first I felt peaceful, then something slowly felt more and more 'off'. Well done!

psc1997 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:01am

Interesting game ;)
Something innovating. Nice job ! ;)

jomomomo says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Wow, really really impressive entry. The graphics were simple but effective, the level design was really really neat, and... what a cool story! Wasn't expecting the ending I got, was pretty sad, but was still a good game nonetheless. Thanks for sharing it.

Sheepolution says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:15am

I really like the graphics. It makes you feel like this small bird in this big world. The gameplay was nice. I felt like I had everywhere to go to, but at the same time I always went the right way. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]