December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

It's dangerous to go alone.

by Senevri - Jam Entry

Here, take this magic rock. You'll need it.

Idea was to combine breakout with adventure/platforming.

x throws rock. wasd moves. Spacebar jumps.

HOX! For some reason, runs horribly on Chrome.

I'll keep on puttering with the post-jam version, I'd guess.
*update* I'm currently doing the holiday thing. I'll put in (at least) a week's worth of work - roughly equal to one ludum dare - from the seventh of January 2014 onwards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#393Theme(Jam)2.38
#428Graphics(Jam)2.58
#459Audio(Jam)1.65
#471Mood(Jam)2.18
#499Innovation(Jam)2.12
#524Overall(Jam)2.20
#538Fun(Jam)1.68

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Old school Limbo! ))

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Although very short, this game seems to have been coded well and sticks to the theme better than a lot of other entries out there. The enemy can't attack the player though, which eliminates any form of challenge.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I really loved the dark pixel art, reminds me Castlevania. However, it tooks me a while to understand what was going on (i could leave the room and the monster never attacks me). I would love to see it expanded.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I like the artstyle.

Senevri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03am

@Lolshouse Dev Team: I know. Ran out of time. I was thinking it could spawn little 'lings, and you'd have to try to jump over and squash them, Mario-style?

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice entry the graphics is pretty :P

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37am

good idea, sad to read you ran out of time, it could have been really cool. hope you'll make a post-jam version which works like you intended it :) (PS: jumping in firefox didnt work, not sure if bug)

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:37am

Awesome pixel art! Really has some potential I think !

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Nice mix of styles, the idea is quite original. I'd like to see a more polished post-jam version.

Senevri says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Well. Enough interest. Will do.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:50am

Remember me to Limbo!

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:25am

It didn't run on my Chrome... I guess I will just pass this game without ratings...

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:40am

About our comment of my game: there is a winning condition, check out the comments if you don't figure it out ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]