December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One World

by j_stirk - Jam Entry

The game is a business simulation set in a world on the brink of major, accelerated climate change. You've only got one Earth, and almost everything you do is working to destroy it.

Your challenge is to build the population by satisfying their needs, without the environment spiralling into chaos. Different structures contribute to pollution, and air pollution accelerates global warming. As things heat up, the sea level will rise and land will become inundated.

Water pollution destroys farmland, making feeding everyone difficult.

Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/16/only-one-world-postmortem/

# Installation

You will need a Java Runtime Environment installed, regardless of your environment.

## Windows Installation

* Unzip the archive
* Run `yogo.exe`

## OS X Installation

* Unzip the archive
* Right click on `yogo.app` and select "Open"
* Confirm that you are happy to run the unsigned application

## Linux

* You can probably just unpack the Windows ZIP and `java -jar yogo.jar`. I've not tested it at all though - there are probably missing libs, etc.

# Controls

* ENTER to finish your turn
* wasd to scroll the map
* ESC for menu
* F1 for commodity prices
* F2 for competitor information
* F3 to overlay the countries on the minimal
* Click on a tile to view details, letters let you build/destroy/manage things

# Hints

* Build farms only on arable land. Building on any other tiles will produce water pollution because they have to use a heap more fertiliser.
* The AI is incredibly, incredibly dumb.
* You can lobby governments to raise or lower the pollution tax rates. Click on a city to see your options. Competitors don't do this to you, but you can do it to them.
* Suspend or decommission buildings if they're not making any profit. They'll only cost 1/3 of the running cost.
* It's possible to "win", and then have the world spiral into death. At the end of the day, you've only got one Earth to make work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#91Theme(Jam)3.38
#121Innovation(Jam)3.29
#140Mood(Jam)3.30
#147Overall(Jam)3.37
#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#339Graphics(Jam)2.96
#457Audio(Jam)1.67

Comments

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Love the idea - you don't see stuff like this in Ludum Dare often! It was a bit overwhelming with the limited tutorial, but I liked the graphics, the procedural generation, and the general tone of the game. Theme works really well too.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28am

This is pretty neat. The only sound I hear is this piercing noise when ever I change turns. I think you should consider using a less piercing sound. Perhaps its an issue with my soundcard.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Wow, that's a heck of an accomplishment to make in a short time!

Seems like I only really scratched the surface in the short time I played.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

Sorry about the end of turn sound - it's actually playing because you get a notification message. It was one of the last things I added, and in retrospect it was a pretty terrible idea.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

I really like this. Definitely going to play more later.

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nice job overall. The only thing I had trouble with was getting started and understanding exactly what I could do. It was pretty fun, though eventually I killed everyone and went into horrible debt :P

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice work on the simulation. I was a little confused on how to do things at first, but I figured it out.

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:32am

Other than the sound between turns I like it. It is a bit overwhelming at first though.

Calahagus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Hey, our games have the same name!

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

I have to agree with mtrc, but don't let that make you feel badly. It was a GREAT concept, and I would even love to see this fully fledged. A FANTASTIC submission.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Did you plan/design the gameplay on this or just make it and hope? Seems good either way :D

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22am

Thanks for the comments everyone. I had a rough plan for how I wanted the gameplay to proceed, but no concrete interaction plan; just dumb luck and playtesting.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

The tile based layout and map put me in mind of dwarf fortress. Impressively ambitious but I couldn't save the world :(

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59am

Cool game! Pretty challenging and interesting! Really really good.The only problem for me it's that sometimes it's not very fluid the controls and pace.
For me the "status" text that appeared in the beginning of each round disappeared too fast and I couldnt manage to find all the places that were in need of things and place what they need. However, cool game! :D

If you have time rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :DDD

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:45am

How about you add some explanation to your entry page? I'd really like to play this game properly, but I fail to understand the mechanics completely... I found out how to build and how to deactivate etc. But that's about it =/

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Really interesting idea and topical of course. I found it a bit difficult to start with but I need to play more to understand the required approach. It's good to see another strategy style game in LD. Well done!

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I don't understand when money comes?) I build, wind station and farm...and what should I do after that?)Sorry)
But the idea is good)

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Very nice idea!
Strangyly I won by doing almost nothing, because all my competitors ran bankrupt :D Then I tried to destroy earth, but ran bankrupt trying to do so :D
All in all this is a nice game! Good work! :)

d__adee says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:59pm

It was nice. Had a hard time to get the hang of it TBH. :P
Probably add a background perhaps on the notifications, it's hard to read sometimes (for me that is).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]