December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

DRAIN

by NickZangus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one sphere under your control at a time.

Use your mouse and your reflexes to avoid the deadly red spheres and resist as much as possible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Innovation3.70
#128Audio3.33
#138Overall3.55
#217Graphics3.54
#253Mood3.15
#339Fun3.10
#511Theme2.83
#641Humor1.93

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27am

I really like the aesthetic.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice idea :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Ohh! So that's the famous game! :p
What did you use for the music? :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

really well done! i could see this being a great mobile game

NickZangus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thank you all! Since I have no experience with music sequencers and the short time available, I decided to use a tool for automatic music generation (http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata). Fortunately, the result is perfectly suited for the game!

Initially, I have not thought of a game for smartphone, but the result seems made for a tablet!

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Looks really polished and is fun to play. Grats!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Very nice graphical style. Interesting gameplay idea.
Definitely could work as a mobile game.

Music is so-so.

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

The look is clean and simple. I like that. I sometimes die out of the blue while there aren't any red cirlces to be seen near them. Highscore 981 :P This game has a lot potential!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:11pm

cool! really fun!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I made a game with the same name that is also about circles and lines, somewhat... Anyway, really nice art style. The gameplay is kinda simple but with a few additions (if you want to continue it) it could become pretty interesting. Good job!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very well polished! Action gets fun and frantic!

NickZangus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28am

@adnzzzzZ I was stunned when I saw your game ... What an amazing coincidence!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

That's actually much cooler than I had expected :) The music was great :D

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Very creative. I haven't played many puzzlers like this, but this is definitely one of the better ones. Easy to pick up and play.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Great concept) Really fun to play, and the music really suits well!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

nice aesthetic. like the idea of one common resource between all the globes too.

Oli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice game, good graphics and original gameplay

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I realy like the idea, and can find tactics to push all balls at the same time (triangle or line shapes). Music and art fit perfectly the game. I would like some way to recover a bit of health, by making contact with another ball type maybe.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:52am

Very good, man.
Amazing with your mechanic. It very perspective for mobile devices.

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28am

Really cool original idea. The aesthetics were great. I agree with everyone else, this would make a great mobile game.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Innovative concept, excellently executed and polished to a tee. Also, very addictive with a 'just one more try' feel to it -- sell it on mobile and you'll be a rich man/woman.

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Very crisp, as people have previously said, has the makings for a great mobile game. Great job ;)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Sounds a lot like stretching the theme. By the same logic almost all FPS could fit the theme because you only carry one gun at the time.
...
Having said that, I freaking love this game!
Really simple, highly engaging mechanic. And it looks and sounds really good!
Congrats!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:58pm

You know... I wrote that last comment and shut my pc down for the day. as I did it I thought about your game again and realized I was totally wrong about it stretching the theme. It fits perfectly. haha. my bad.

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Interesting concept, it could be a commercial game for the markets too

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Interesting concept, music was nice too!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Wow it looks really nice i love this graphics and audio, gameplay was good too ;)
An IOS/Android port will be great !

aviktorov says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Minimalistic and stylish to the bone.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Awesome game! Please port it for mobile devices! :O
Really cool gameplay!

If you have time, please consider rating my game ! I would really appreciate it :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Clean graphics and audio. Draining the energy of the other spheres had great game feel.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very good instinctive game, the sobre and cristaline music is perfect. =)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Great mechanics! Good job!

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:28am

Yeah! Very difficult! It's hard to controls three circle in the same time :D the gameplay is very fun!!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:45am

Loved it. Tell me you are putting it on ios/Android Great fun.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:46am

reminds me of World of Goo :D
Very cool graphics! 5/5

zkenshin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Very innovative and stylish game. Nice entry. :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Wow, this is really challenging ! The gameplay is perfect, controls are smooth, no bugs or anything. I really love it ! The music is really nice, great work !

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:46pm

highly stylized and cool

henrykun says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

One of the best I've seen so far. Really polished, weel thought and weel implemented. Good job!.

Grafter says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Really enjoyed this, simple but fun!

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice animations and great idea. You must finish it and finish it! Keep up the good work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]