December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do Not Expect Help

by Icoates - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a bit difficult to explain, but in each level, one or more aspects of the ruleset are changed, but you only get one helpful text per level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#614Audio2.25
#659Mood2.53
#766Theme2.40
#778Innovation2.45
#795Fun2.40
#851Overall2.53
#872Graphics2.11
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45pm

So, level 2: g is right, d is left, but no key seems to jump?

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:37am

I found the magic pelican. Good game :)

Icoates says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:20am

Thank you. The jump key on level 2 is a number.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:29am

i liked the zoom level -- i hadn't realized i was a turtle until i got up close. overall i think the jump physics need a little tightening and the collision rect on the turtle was a bit off... but nice job!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30am

I.... HATE... YOU...... INDECISIVE TURTLE!

Seriously though, I'm surprised I played this as long as I did, it was intreguing to see what you would come up with for the next level.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice game! I like the mood the music gives it.

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:18am

The rule changing is a fun mechanic but felt arbitrary and unfair at times. I was frustrated especially by level two and the controls not being a direct map from the arrow pad. I was also frustrated at the lack of control precision and some of the pixel-perfect platforming, especially long sequences of exacting jumps. I like your graphics, except for the pelican. They seem to fit the concept well, but some animation would be nice. Music was good, but seemed too loud, could use some sfx too. Overall, I like the sense of whimsy and abandon, the game defies expectations but could use a little polish. :)

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:20am

I like turtles...

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

It escalated quickly - nice concept, the turtle was hard to control in places, especially once things got the switcheroo on the controls. He moved rather fast and slippy for a turtle. Challenging and fun though!
[Spoiler ] It was a somewhat unsatisfying ending, there needed to be some closure with the Pelican. [/Spoiler]

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

i'm a masochistic gamer, and i approve of this game... brilliant and engaging design!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:51am

Pretty interesting game. I enjoyed working out what rules have changed in each level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]