December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tea time!

by mrcdk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a non finished entry :( Why? here is explained why http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/15/bad-weekend/

tl;dr I didn't like the theme and I couldn't think of a good mechanics, I don't like javascript but I forced myself to use it... it didn't work, so I changed to haxe for the job, real job stole a lot of time I could use for the compo aaaand I got ill at the middle of it.

So yeah, a really bad ludum dare for me.

The game is "playable" but there is only one level without any main menu, end splash or anything really, even real objective because yeah, bad game.

How to play:
- You have different movement options on the top part of the screen. From top to bottom you can see:
- The total number of the same movement you have available.
- The movement itself. If it has springs it means that you will jump over things like buttons or pits!
- And how many tiles will you move.
- Your objective is to go to your hat, monocle and precious tea using as many movement as you have but you only can put one of those movement on each tile.
- You need to select the movement (with 1-8 keys) and put on the field so, when Mr. Square passes over it, he will act as the movement says.
- In the field you can see the movements and how many tiles they will make you to make in the upper right corner of the icon. For example, if the arrow points to the right and the upper right corner number is 3, you will move 3 tiles to the right.


Controls:
- TAB: Toggle edit mode.
- 1-8: Select action.
- Mouse: Place action or remove it in edit mode

The source is a total mess, I was thinking to submit the game to the jam but it worst than spaghetti code :( and also I've to work tomorrow, well, today because here it's 4 AM :/

So, basically, my time during the compo has been split into:
- 3 hours blaming everyone because the winning theme xD
- 7 hours trying to get a good game mechanics XD
- 10 hours trying to get it to work in javascript.
- 1 hour getting openfl and haxelib to update.
- 6 hours writing it in haxe.
- 5 hours making graphics. (I suck at it)
- 3 hours making music. (See point above)
- 13 hours sleeping, eating, throwing up, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1678Coolness14%

Comments

JOSSCON says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice idea, but I could not for the life of me work out where to place the pieces in order to complete the level! Really like the catchy music, it's seriously stuck in my head.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

That music is awesome. xD

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Great! Too bad that this isn't finished yet :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

At least you should write a little manual for the actions.. great theme though, it has a Maniac Mansion flavor to it! but i didn't rate it because it really would take too much time to figure it out by meself.. sorry

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Great idea - just needs some work.

mrcdk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Thanks for your words, I updated the info with a "how to play" section. I was a bit bitter because of everything that happened to me this ludum dare so I didn't think people would play it and did nothing to give the people a clue about how to play it XD
I think it will be a good puzzle game if I get some time to work on it (basically redo from scratch again) and add a few more things that I couldn't add because of time.

Thanks again!

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Good idea, you only need some time to end this! I like this kind of game. Nice music by the way :D

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice music actually, how did you make it?

mrcdk says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:42am

I made the music with musagi

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]