December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Plant

by doctorscientist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In alien plant one must feed a plant to save the day. You only get one chance and one plant. Enjoy. As this is a mouse aiming type of game it is easier to play on full screen as I have made it so right click abducts. E will abduct for those of you who don't want to go full screen. The tanks are hard to kill...

Update:

I added a abduction sound and visual indications of the cargo hold and life of the ship. You can see little heads in the windows. I used a second camera to give a close up view of the ship so that you can see the track lights that indicate the health of the ship.

I added sound ques to indicate progress. The plant rumbles as it grows and the music pitch changes as you get closer to completing the game.

When humans fall from a high place they emit some particles and die.

I fixed a bug where you could run into the tank bullets. I took note of but left in the bug that allows the levitation beam to destroy tank bullets.

Thank you everyone for your feed back. I'll see ya'll next time.

-paul

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#124Humor3.32
#152Fun3.44
#218Audio3.06
#233Overall3.35
#262Mood3.13
#309Innovation3.19
#427Graphics3.06
#649Theme2.60

Comments

Nessic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

nomnom

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

Excellent! That was very fun. My alien plant was very well fed. The only thing I would add is some kind of splatter effect for humans that get accidentally flung into the air. :) I did that a lot.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

That was fun! At first I was like wtf I missed the abductions and they went flying to heaven, but later they returned. The plant liked humans, dead or alive.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

I loved how the humans would fling out when you destroyed parts of the building. And loved how the abduction ray felt.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

I had a good time flinging humans around!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

Great fun! Sucking up the people was the best part. I'd love to see some audio cues when you get a person into the cargo bay. Also loved the speed increase with the shift key held down! Really made me feel like I was piloting a UFO.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

That was pretty fun. Good job!

Graphics and overall style was great.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

good one!

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Whoaa, absolutely stunning gameplay! Absolutely lovely idea c:

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Kind of like an inverse Defender, in that you get to play the alien. I like the concept.

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

I felt so bad for every person I flung into space. Lovely concept, good execution

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

Blegh, I really want to play it, but unity doesn't work right on the web for my mac :((( I can only move left and pick up people, haha. Could you provide the standalones perhaps?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

Sure I can make some stand alones np.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Done

CTATZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

Of course I know what blades of steel is! I loved your game by the way, nothing more satisfying than feeding a giant plant monster!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

i was amused. i particularly liked catching a human in their way back down from an overthrow. i would have liked to see cargo bay capacity, and current health, to make decision making a little easier. either way, a good time. well done.

Oli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Cool! It's funny to invade humans haha

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I'd like to see a 'wasted food' count for all the humans I let fall to their doom. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12pm

It has a nice feel of progress and exploration.

After 3 or 4 failed missions I think I found a pretty much flawless way to beat the game, so I think game design could use some tweaks. But hey, you got me playing for a good 20 or 30 minutes there, so cudos, it's really good stuff. :)

j_stirk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nice smooth gameplay and really fun. Accidentally throwing humans in the air is just too much awesome. It would be nice to have some kind of feedback when you have been hit too much. though.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

Yeah, thanks j_strik I just added my final update that addresses that. Its pretty cool too. Well, I think its pretty cool. pc

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36am

You game is great! Really surprised at home playable this is. The tanks especially made it really challenging, and you have to multitask a lot.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice entry :D, the alien plant is hungry for humans :D

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I had some trouble to find those human, but good work.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Yes well they are everywhere :S They are the little guys in green shirts about three pixels tall. Maybe you mean... inside the buildings that you destroy.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Oh yes. Down with humanity :D
Crashing buildings to see these guys fall down is just great ^_^ (luckily the plant doesn't mind dead bodies :P)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40pm

It's not and untitled alpha. Points for that.

The controls have a few issues.
They should be rebindable and the gun could have autofire to spare my poor mouse.

The gameplay itself isn't very exiting after the thrill of flinging tiny people around subsides. This could be mended by adding some challenge, as currently it's relatively non-existent.

Have the enemy/human troops behave more aggressively by moving around. Mobilizing the airforce could also bring some dogfighting action to the scene to spice things up.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

HuvaaKoodia: I really appreciate the in-depth review. Autofire is a good idea. I originally planned for an airforce and a much bigger world but time was not on my side.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I love that if you abduct humans but they miss your spaceship, they rocket into the air and glide for a while. Fun game!

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Love the art style and audio! Lots of potential here.

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Interesting game. I managed to get underground by reaching the edge of the map, which made me happy :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:42am

Yes, I actually made no effort to bound the game.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:27am

Neat game. At first I didnt see the humans that show up because you blast a building so I was wondering where to get more. Cool concept!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:25am

It took me some time to understand that the abduction ray was sensible to projectiles. I really had fun launching people in the air and trying to catch them back.
Great work on the interactive building (glass and people falling).
Speeding up the tune was also a neat idea.
With some graphic background and some military planes the game could become really addictive.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Excellent stuff, really liked the abduction effect and the armies of tanks firing at you. Wasn't clear if I was dead or not until the ship wouldn't take off again. With some tweaking this'd be 5/5 . :)

diegomachado says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I like this! Remembers me Choplifter, for Master System. To be perfectly rounded, add more enemies with distinct patterns as time goes by, like jets and helicopters!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:28pm

This was really fun! I particularly loved that gaping maw and how the people you cack-handedly launch into orbit splat like lemmings when they touch back down - hilarious! I wonder if it would have worked better with a key to press to shoot straight down with? Great entry! (ps I answered your post on my game - please have another try it's not broken honest;)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:09pm

good graphics.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Really fun, great game! I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Thanks @Jupiter_Hadley!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:15pm

The music was awesome and shooting things was a lot of fun - awesome work for 48 hours! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]