December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1

by Eralp Karaduman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

only 1 and some beach balls.

If you have only one thing, you can't do pretty much anything! Thats what the game's about. :P

Unity3d, Blender, Photoshop.

Tested gamepad support on Logitech F710. (RT opens menu, x use).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#224Graphics3.52
#408Humor2.46
#455Theme2.96
#781Mood2.33
#796Audio1.25
#936Innovation2.06
#962Overall2.23
#988Fun1.69
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

cute "game" -- I can only walk around though, it sounds like that is it, right? I like the style of the main character. A good start -- are you going to continue working on it to add some gameplay?

please rate mine if you have time.

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

haha awesome :) Great take on the theme, fun style, love the colors!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

The player character is pretty cute, his walk animation was enough to keep me running in a random direction for a few minutes. The giant stone one gives off a creepy monolith from 2001: A Space Odyssey vibe, very funny take on the theme.

0Creds says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

Interesting "game". Not much to do, but a good take on the theme. The animation/models look great. 6/10 :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29am

Good use of the theme, but didnt really have much to do. I like the graphics! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Cool take on the theme and very nice graphics

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

Great animation and graphical style, wish there was something to do though.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09am

looks great, but there's nothing to do :/

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

I have to chime in like everyone else here: this is a scene desperately looking for a game.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44am

It was fun to watch the player run around, and the graphics were great! Not much in the way of game play though!

digihacker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

Hey, nice graphic you got there but more control will make the game more fun !

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

The character is very cute and the environment feels like purgatory (which is not a bad thing). But at least let us kick around the beach balls :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10am

Awesome model and arm flail. Way to stick it to the theme!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

I don't understand it. I can walk around, but there is no goal, or purpose in it. I also don't understand the effect of waving with the arm.
Nice 'demo'.

carrymove says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30am

Cute graphics, but I don't understand how to play :(

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07am

The visuals look great. Really like the character and walk animation. Felt pretty nice just running around. Would like to see this developed further.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08am

nice character design..

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

I'm really not sure what to do here.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

nice graphics. a very empty "game", but quite meditative

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

Great "non-game" ;) Character design is amazing, looks as if superbrothers might be in 3D. Really good potential art style there!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57am

Thanks everyone for playing my incomplete game :) Sorry for wasting your time (if you haven't enjoyed shiny beach balls)

Wow I'm really flattered that most of you liked character art & animations, because I'm not an artist AT ALL.

@phi6 thanks man, being compared to superbrothers is awesome, you made my day.

@Christopher Schulte, virtual high five for getting the reference ;)

@Jupiter_Hadley Awesome video, thanks for including me, great shot at pronouncing my weird name :D

@afterisk wow never thought of purgatory, but sure looks like it, this can become the setting if I continue making it.

I'm going to play & rate all of your games very soon. Sorry I'm on a tight deadline for making regular iOS apps :(

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24am

Well i like your style. I know you can't do much but what you made is great and used your knowledge very good.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27pm

interesting joke/game here I liked the relationship with the theme. Love the cute graphic very smooth

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I'm going on an adventure into white space! Tell my mom I love her if I don't return.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Really like the graphics, it'd be nice if you were able to kick the balls though.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Hmm... Cool game, but how does this fit the theme? All I can see is a 1... Wait a second... Oh you! :D

Well, there isn't much to say here. Graphics are great.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice game. I like the char design and the animation.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nice game, really. But I hope you understand I can't really treat this as a game, don't you?

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Interesting concept, but no actual game here. Kinda amusing to run around in though!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Interesting take on the theme, loving the playable character and animations. :)

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Pretty adorable, too bad there is little to do. :(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Adorable graphics and a cool concept of a "game"! Good luck! :)

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very meta.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

@JALgames I wouldn't consider it as a game as well, it's more like a toy. I know this is a game compo, but I wanted do finish something so I wrapped it up quickly. But I started this with the goal of making a game in my mind :)

mboaj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Love the graphics. The complete exploratory objective reminds me of prometheus.

Dohan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Yay for "games" with giant 1's and no much more! :D

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Love the model. Would like to see more! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Not really a game so far, but graphics and physics are good (those beach balls look lovely, and the character sprite looks quite good in a simplistic way), and it's a fun take on the theme.

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18am

Cute graphics :)

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:12am

I really love games that put the "game" thing further. That's what I'm trying to do, although my game for LD28 is a little bit more classic. :)

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:00pm

That arm swinging is hardcore. Nice " """"""""game""""""""""""""" " (I hate these quotations).

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:37pm

As some other said: The character is lovely but there is no real "game". But I understand that this is part of the concept. Oh well.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Glad you liked my,
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''game''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
:)

spx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:31am

I wonder if there is something hidden within these beach balls.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I'd rather go with the philosophy "If you have only one thing, you CAN do pretty much anything!"

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Love the style of the main character in this! You need to put him into something where he can do some stuff ;)

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Well trolled to the theme. (That's what I want to do too) 5/5 for everything ecxept audio, becouse it deserves!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Not much of a total a game but a good tech demo for having a moveable player and rolling balls with some physics.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:55am

It's definitely cute, but I could not fine any "game" in here. Expand it, it could be cool!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:22pm

RARE!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]