December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Discount Santa Saves Christamas

by tinykidtoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game has three levels and is mostly working, it is a platformer with a twisted christmas styling. The web client seems to be broken and I am working on a fix. But this might not come that soon as it is the holidays. Hope you enjoy playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#254Humor2.90
#693Fun2.58
#733Audio1.72
#822Mood2.25
#862Graphics2.14
#895Theme2.06
#908Overall2.44
#936Innovation2.06

Comments

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01am

I like the idea of santa having to navigate a deadly obstacle course. The game gets real hard at some place and sometimes you have to guess about where you are supposed to jump to which can be frustrating,

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01am

Fiendishly difficult but worth persevering with! Some of most fun I've had out of all the games I've seen. A very well balanced platformer, my favourite kind :) I loved Santa's face when jumping.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

Yeah! I won! :D
I enjoyed it a lot! Nice mechanics, very smooth. Also great job with level design, it is very hard to beat. Good job!

One friendly advice: you should make the game more accessible to the people; since it was made in unity you could post a web version or at least seperate downloadable version to reduce download size. It is a good game, it would be nice if more people checked it out.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:24am

I liked the eyes. :) "santa on ... ledge"

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44am

I'm not a huge fan of dark takes on holiday themes, but none the less its a pretty solid game.

ryann says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:47am

The perfect collisions are kind of tedious but it's a hilarious game, I like the idea of subjecting santa claus to mayhem. Could really use a few more different kinds of obstacles.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Pretty hardcore. Nice level design!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice dev and idea. It's pretty hard, but deserves the try hard! Good work dev!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:03am

Great eyes! Lol

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

Don't really see the theme connection and the physics were a bit floaty, but otherwise a solid platformer with above average level design.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:36am

Quite hard--the jumping is super floaty. One small thing you could do to give some more polish is to change Santa's scaleX (-1 or 1) based on the direction you're moving so it feels like you're changing direction.

The face is hilarious -- need a "HO HO HO" sound effect to go with it.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:11am

love it haha

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16pm

the craziest santa i've ever seen xD

Ace says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

Well, it's a nice platformer, though the gravity feels a bit weird. A bit low on different amounts of obstacles but that's fine since it's just 48 hours after all.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice platformer, the controls are bit floaty but feel better then other submissions I've played.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:43pm

As other reviewers have said, the gravity was slightly too low. I liked the part where Santa threw up blood.

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Way too hard for me, but I liked Santa's appearance, especially how he seemed surprised every time I jumped.

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Nice game!
I really like the loony look of sante :D
The jumping needed a bit of practice, but thats ok.
Nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]