December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Baby Simulator 2k14

by Cosrnos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have just given birth to a beautiful child and it's up to you to make sure it grows up to be successful! Be careful though, because you only get one!

Don't do anything that might cause it to fail in life or resent you or you'll end up in a horrible retirment home where the staff burns you with cigarettes and steals your things! Do you have what it takes to be a parent?
--------------------------------------------
For added fun, name your child one of the following!
>Notch
>Kim Kardashian
>Lady Gaga
>Beyonce
>Charlie Sheen
>Skrillex
>Andrew Hussie
>Cosrnos
--------------------------------------------
Also included is my wishlist for bonnaroo. I wanted to combine my two favorite things in the world, so I decided to put my bonnaroo wishlist as an event in my ludum dare entry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Humor3.67
#288Innovation3.23
#483Mood2.78
#570Fun2.76
#577Overall2.92
#756Theme2.42
#878Graphics2.10
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

hehe cool idea ;) Certified Baby Technician!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

As a parent of a 2 yr old... you nailed it.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

The game will create more dink families :-)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

It's like having a tomogatchi only with heavy saracasm and dire consequences, I like it!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Hahahaha! very funny :)

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

I'm surprised at how much content you packed into this! Very funny as well. Good job!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I didn't know that you can survive so long without food :)

Afal says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I had a girl called skrillex but in the end she was misgenered as "he". Also spaghetti doesn't seem to last 8 months like it says it does. Pretty cool

Cosrnos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Thanks for the feedback so far and a special thanks if you took the survey!! I'm gonna be fixing these bugs.

@Tanner: Astonishing isn't it? Apparently babies can store food for up to 10 months!! We aren't sure how but we're going to assume that there's some sort of black magic involved. We still know very little about these majestic creatures.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Certified Baby Technician !
Funny game, I liked the concept.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

It died! :C

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:05am

This was tons of fun, I wish there was more lol. Very cool game!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Sweet game, very fun and funny. I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

kbake says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:23am

I enjoyed the humor in it a lot!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]