December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Evosea

by disdanes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Audio2.82
#528Humor2.17
#581Mood2.64
#584Graphics2.76
#664Theme2.58
#814Innovation2.38
#869Fun2.28
#881Overall2.48
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:16am

Move with WASD or arrow keys, use space to jump and left-click to attack.

You are a lowly starfish in a sea of creatures. Defeat other creatures to evolve and become something more powerful! Be careful, because you can only evolve once!

Twitter : https://twitter.com/ChronobitStudio

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

What ruthlessness amongst such adorable sea creatures! I would have loved some particle effects to help me understand when I was being hit. It took a while for me to understand that after I killed everything, I should walk off screen to go to the next level.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

What an end-boss :) I also would have liked to get some more feedback on whether I have been hit or hit the enemy. Also after choosing a cheap evolution form there' little incentive to keep killing things -especially as you can just bypass them. Nevertheless, the final enemy was worth it :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

The graphics and the audio were fantastic! I was surprised how well the music set the mood of being underwater. Also if you guys did not pick the seahorse evolution, you're doing it wrong. The "fighting" mechanic was a bit weird and it would have been nice to know when I'm invulnerable, but a fantastic idea and a great game :)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

A bit complex to understand, nice game overall btw!

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Cool game dude, I don't remember the last time so much cuteness was so devilish

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Well it made me laugh. It really made me laugh. I am an anime starfish, I must destroy the other fauna of my habitat to evolve into a turtle! I don't think evolution quite works like that, but fun concept.

The fighting mechanic could use some more player feedback, I wasn't sure if I was hitting them, or them me, so I just ran at them and span like a Ninja starfish.
Gave me a few good laughs, Thanks!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Really great! Love the art style of the finished pieces. Didn't know what to do at first but once I figured it out, it was awesome :3

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I had some fun playing this, but the physics felt floaty at times, and the attacking needed a proper animation. Still, the concept was nice, and I played it for a while.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Funny little game! The combat is a bit shallow, but nice overall. Also, I'm really terrible at it.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I'm not sure how I feel about beating up sea creatures haha! ;) It was a good game; I didn't hear any sound, is that a problem with my computer?

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

There should be some music in the background on the stages, what system are you on ?

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Fun game.

QmA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Nice game.. nice graphics.. the environment and setup are pretty nice. The fight mechanic could have used some improvement, some visual indication of damage you have done and damage you have incurred would have vastly improved the game.

All in all I think you planned for a better game than the time allowed.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very nice art style and soundtrack, really fits the game. I liked the evolving thing!. Good job.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really nice art style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]