December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cuborg

by skarab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one ship, for one level.

Crappy and unfinished topdown-shooter like.
I will improve it to get a complete game later on.

Sadly, have the time to do 5% of what I wish, zero polish, but it's a nice start for a new Coffee project...

Controls: arrows, and space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#201Graphics3.59
#514Audio2.47
#559Mood2.67
#706Fun2.55
#795Innovation2.42
#901Overall2.45
#971Theme1.80
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

It's a shame you didn't get more done. from what I played, it looked very interesting with a great graphics style. I like how you and enemies get smaller with less health

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Tried to play your game, but got blue squares on the windows version instead of any graphics.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I have some serious problems to play this game. Here's a screenshot: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/LD28/wrong.PNG if you need more info feel free to contact me timtipgames at gmail.com

romankov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Looks interesting, but I don't have windows :(

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Dude, i like your entry, what i like the most is the art style, the only thing i think is missing is a little feedback when your shots hit something, and a deathscreen, i couldn't beat the game sadly :/

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Ok, thanks for the help, it doesn't work on ATI for now, going to fix it!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

To clarify, I get the same issue as timtipgames

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Not sure if it's the game or my machine but when I booted the .exe I got an unresponsive black screen actually had to restart my computer :( Just a warning to others.

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Ok, it's fixed for ATI (but you wont get shadows for now..).
Thanks for your help :)
Danman: I'm afraid it's surely your computer

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Great graphics and audio. I like how the walls/building look as if they were made out of chocolate. :P
The controls aren't my cup of tea though, I kept running into walls and had to walk backwards to get away, as if I was controlling a car.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

It does work now for me too :)
I like the pace of the game. Nice shaders :)

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Promising game and good looking. Physics tended to push me face first into the wall on collision which would be frustrating.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

Really nice graphics, the reflections and lighting were really cool. Nice "music" too!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52am

Hehe, even if unfinished, nice. It reminds of of Gauntlet. Also nice graphics.

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Thanks for the code, you have handled very good the light and AI, i admire that :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice graphics! Enemies are fast in my opinion, but nice work anyway!

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nice gfx. I liked the idea, it reminded me alien highway (from 8 bit computers from the 80s). Good start.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]