December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

White-Hat-Guy

by Gaspard_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a cool white-hat-guy, you want to be in the camera, MOONWALKING AND BEING COOL, all while making a nice journey!


I'm sick, I'll put more text here later.
Because I was sick this isn't great...
But still fun!
// now lets put some more.
I find it interesting to see what you made while you were sick.

The glitches are there at the end of each level. Just wait, it should resolve itself(however, after a day, give up xD)

This is a one key game, in the sense of the keyboard(Yes, you can confuse that with the only key you can get each level...)

I realised I made some weird/chaotic music... side effect of being sick...(I can do better. Not sure? check my last LD entry),and also, even though you are supposed to get only one power-up per level(not counting J boxes, which increase your jump power) , it can happen that you don't get one.In that case, you are probably screwed.(Indeed.)

Technical best possible score:
100*6(coins)+100*3(Levels)+4*50(J-boxes)=1100 points.

Edit: Just corrected a typo: I had replaced a 25 by a 40.
This is allowed according to the compo rules.
Also, found one huge mistake, but correcting that would be against the rules(it's something like 100 lines)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#309Humor2.73
#321Audio2.84
#398Mood2.91
#575Graphics2.78
#660Innovation2.65
#689Theme2.54
#829Fun2.35
#868Overall2.50

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Link broke. Well, not the link, but the link inside the link. Go fix it!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

*joppiesaus: Fixed!

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

That was weird but good.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

It took me a while until I figured how this game works. The jump is kinda unintuitive. The charakter looks funny.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

*d_Oo_d: Yes, when one is ill, one does weird things...

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

mood 5 stars, audio 5 stars, but WTF did I just play??

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57pm

That was surreal. The backgrounds were really cool.

miwuc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

It's not working for me :(

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Width (80) and height (0) cannot be <= 0
at java.awt.image.DirectColorModel.createCompatibleWritableRaster(DirectColorModel.java:1016)
at sun.java2d.opengl.CGLGraphicsConfig.createCompatibleImage(CGLGraphicsConfig.java:200)
at java.awt.GraphicsConfiguration.createCompatibleImage(GraphicsConfiguration.java:178)
at sun.awt.image.SunVolatileImage.getBackupImage(SunVolatileImage.java:236)
at sun.awt.image.VolatileSurfaceManager.getBackupSurface(VolatileSurfaceManager.java:263)
at sun.awt.image.VolatileSurfaceManager.initialize(VolatileSurfaceManager.java:126)
at sun.awt.image.SunVolatileImage.<init>(SunVolatileImage.java:88)
at sun.awt.image.SunVolatileImage.<init>(SunVolatileImage.java:98)
at sun.awt.image.SunVolatileImage.<init>(SunVolatileImage.java:109)
at sun.java2d.opengl.CGLGraphicsConfig.createBackBufferImage(CGLGraphicsConfig.java:356)
at sun.lwawt.LWCanvasPeer.createBuffers(LWCanvasPeer.java:62)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.createBuffers(Component.java:4016)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.<init>(Component.java:3956)
at java.awt.Component$FlipSubRegionBufferStrategy.<init>(Component.java:4479)
at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Component.java:3833)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Canvas.java:194)
at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Component.java:3756)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Canvas.java:169)
at display.Display.getBufferstrategy(Display.java:32)
at display.Display.<init>(Display.java:29)
at yo.Game.<init>(Game.java:32)
at yo.Main.main(Main.java:71)

What I see is that the window first appears small then big. I guess it makes this check when the window is still small or something?
I'm on OSX 10.8.5 and here's my Java version:
java version "1.7.0_45"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_45-b18)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.45-b08, mixed mode)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43pm

*tiffy, a game made by someone who was sick xD
Seriously, I don't know how it ended up like this!
*HeyChinaski Thanks!
That's because I made it the first day, not the one where I was sick.
*miwuc I got an idea of what it might be: does your computer have a small screen?

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Ah, this art ,like yoshi's islands :) love it. and very appropiate for this time

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Woa... Trippy... But great fun! Crazy person...

Riilu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:31pm

A very "interesting" game to say the least. Enjoyed it even though it being rather strange.

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:34am

I think I just smoked weed while playing this game, sorry.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Ok Ludumdare really need a trippy category to do justice to those kind of game. Until then I will consider it as a subcategory of mood and I'm sure giving you five star for the effort.
The music is incredible, and I like this glitchy shoot animation.
My best score is 650.

multikorv says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:58am

Flummigt.. I like it actually! :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice graphics style ^^
The music is quite fitting :)
Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]