December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Spacebeard in: The Centauri Run

by DaleP - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run contraband through a dangerous asteroid field as the infamous Captain Spacebeard! Although you have amassed a collection of numerous stolen spaceships over your years as a pirate, you don't have anybody but yourself to fly them. Choose between the fighter with the laser gun, a utility ship with a tractor beam, or that one with a repulsor field, and smuggle some contraband!

- Vertical scrolling shoot-em-up with the option of nonviolence (use debris as a shield and sneak past the enemies)
- Three ships to pick from, each with one unique ability
- Multiple paths to level completion

Controls:
WASD or arrows to move
Space to use your ship's ability

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#499Graphics2.93
#534Humor2.16
#549Fun2.79
#616Overall2.86
#628Audio2.21
#798Mood2.30
#889Innovation2.18
#988Theme1.68

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Neat game. i like the theme a lot - space pirates! it was difficult to figure out what to do with the movable asteroids. i thought i could move them (tractor beam?) or shoot them into place. the nonviolent option is really interesting and worth exploring

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

Awesome game. But I really didn't understand where the theme "you only get one" came in. Would have liked to see a lot more of that.

Other then that the graphics were awesomely retro. Gameplay with the non violent options (using the tractor beam to hold the asteroid in as a shield and steer it) was something I haven't seen before. Great idea.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice game, fun to play, but very far from the theme :-(

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Felt like far too often i was shooting at enemies i couldn't see yet to prevent them shooting at me. Some music would have really helped. Weapon (or non-weapon) differences helped keep it fresh but it was still not particularly replayable imo.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cute graphics. But I cant recognize the theme in this. Just the ability with the ships? Loved the spaceship's gfx though :D

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

nice! i really wanted to make a game like this. reminds me of overkill and tyrian. i really liked the different ships the idea of moving astroids is great. it was too hard for me - it restarted me on the second level after i took one hit, and i couldn't avoid taking one hit (because i'm old and slow) but nicely done.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

A very fun game but next time try to stick closer to the theme. You'll be surprised with what you can come up!

DaleP says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

You Only Get One ability/weapon on your ship - seemed to me like that fit the theme pretty well.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Amazing name!

burlapjack says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:55am

I love the hand-drawn look of the rocks and debris, the starry background has a nice look to it as well. I think this game could be better if it was a little faster paced, and the explosions weren't so loud.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:00am

Fun little shooter! Tractor ship was a little too hard to play :P

ZXeno says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:01am

Couldn't find the theme, but I loved this none-the-less. Good work!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04am

Nice pixel art and gameplay mechanics, but I think that the camera view is a bit limited.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:44pm

The not seeing enemies didn't bother me at all, it was actually alot of fun to dodge the shooting. Well done for 48h!! :)

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I didn't see ld theme in this game.

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

GOod job!

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I see the potential of the different weapons, but it needs a stronger level design I think. Maybe in a post-compo version of the game? :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Liked the ship gfx and the minimal layouts that made you have to use patience and tactics to get around the off screen bad guys. Nice work, the huge ships that just poured laser death were evil. :p

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice shooter. I didn't understand how to play with the Repulsor and the Tractor.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice animations. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]