December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spectrum

by Keith Evans - Jam Entry

Spectrum
A colorful puzzle platformer.

You are a small white orb trapped inside a mysterious test chamber. A floating colored portal can be seen in the distance but when you touch it, nothing appears to happen. Your goal is to find a way out of 5 increasingly difficult test chambers.

Absorb the color of lights in the environment
Mix colors together to match the color of portals, switches, and force fields.
You ONLY GET ONE COLOR at a time.

Good luck!

Apologies to Mac users, there is a random crash we are still tracking down.

Art, Code, and Design by Keith Evans and Matt Krystek
Music by Michael Krystek

Post Compo Release Notes:
Updated Player Physics based off everyone's awesome feedback. Thanks!
Changed Jump Pad Geo for easier activation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.50
#147Overall(Jam)3.37
#184Fun(Jam)3.11
#188Graphics(Jam)3.50
#219Audio(Jam)3.03
#255Mood(Jam)2.91
#398Theme(Jam)2.37
#419Humor(Jam)1.74

Comments

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49am

It's a pretty cool and enjoyable game, but I'm really not feeling the theme association. Especially with the blending of colours. Just feels off. Still, a fun game. Played it longer than most others even.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04am

I like this idea, it's really interesting. I feel like it fits the theme alright! Graphics are tight, there's solid audio and music. Overall an enjoyable idea that could be taken even further. My only gripe is that the controls were a little finicky, but otherwise great!

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

You can only have one colour! Enjoyed it! But I had some hard times with the controls at one point and got stuck to a wall.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Top notch for graphics. I can see this being on Steam, easily. :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Very good concept. Well done. The soundtrack is a bit repetitive, but fits well. Excellent work for a game jam!

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Fairly standard puzzle platformer, but well-implemented and very polished. I love the bounce animation on the orb when you jump.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Gorgeous. Only complaint is the controls, they're really stiff, otherwise, you guys did a great job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The concept is awesome, this is a really good game !

srimech says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

It was looking really good but when I finished the second level I got "The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected." (Chrome, OSX 10.7.5). I haven't rated it yet. Hopefully I'll get another try.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

YAY Unity is cool! The game is awesome. Graphics are nice and I had fun to play it. Easy understanding. ♥ I would buy it ^^

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I love this kind of platform/puzzle!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Loved it! Controls were a little rough sometimes, but I managed to complete it. Nice idea and good execution!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

@srimech, thanks for the heads up. That seems to not be very common but I will definitely be keeping my eye out for it. Hopefully it was a chrome crash. :) Thanks for the feedback.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I love the mood, the music, and the visuals, but I had trouble with the character controls, especially on ramps. The character was pretty tough to control. I'll agree that the theme was a bit loose, but overall, I think this was a great entry!

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43pm

It really missed out on the theme sadly, but the game was fairly fun, more work should have been put into the controls though, they felt slippery, and the jumping felt very inconsistent, it was as if everytime I pressed space the orb would jump to different heights. The visuals were nice and in general there was nothing particularly bad about the game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Supercool, so glad I didn't read the directions.

Controls a bit wonky, I kept struggling against them, first feeling that I couldn't move enough and then suddenly getting unstuck and overshooting my target, which was the only mar in an otherwise sweet experience.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Thanks for all the great feedback everybody! We have uploaded a post compo release for anyone wanting to try out a slightly more polished experience.

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

Controls are annoyingly finicky sometimes, but the concept, mechanic, graphics and audio are all fantastic!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:41am

This is a wonderful concept, like you said it is similar in theme to our game but this is certainly a unique style. Unity is extremely powerful in comparison to LibGDX so I am very interested to see where you take this if you plan on releasing it.

Overall I think this is a fantastic game though it seems a bit loose on the theme, same for our game though!

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I love the concept of solve the puzzles by colors. It can be a good starting point to make something much elaborated. On the other hand the controls are, as others said before, a bit wonky.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I also got the "The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected." message but it was really great up to that point (level 2)!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07pm

@jdpalmer What web browser were you using? It might have something to do with your Unity web plugin being old (download the latest version here: http://unity3d.com/webplayer), we are trying to track this issue down and will put up a windows version of the game tonight. Sorry about that!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:28am

I like this idea a lot, I just wish you had time to make more levels. The color mechanic really has a lot of possibilities. Keep working on this!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:07am

Once I figured out what I was supposed to do, and how things worked, it was pretty fun. Visual design of the objects could have helped make it a bit more apparent what I was supposed to do, but figuring it out didn't take too much effort...

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Oh good one! Nice mood an polished game =)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:30pm

nice puzzles, visuals and music! the collision detection is a little strange, and the controls a not very precise, even in the post-compo, but great job nonetheless!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:03am

Pretty good game. I thought it was very innovated and was fun.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

We have tracked down the random crash and it seems to be a Mac only issue. Apologies to Mac users, we are in the process of working on a solution.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]