December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leap of Faith

by Lustdante - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Easy mode update
- 10 lives
- Less rockets

PERSONAL NOTE

I played bazillion 2d platformers and mistakenly assumed dodging missile on the ladder is taken for granted. I spent most of my effort polishing the two endings, which you shouldn't miss!

UPDATE
- 10 Lives version is uploaded due to the difficulty. Original submission is untouched. Now you can't miss the Ending :)
- Dodge missile by jumping away from ladder and climb back on.
- After you jump out of ladder, you need to let go up key to hold it back again.

Made with Unity + 2d Toolkit

- Arrow keys for movement, Space for jumping.
- You can briefly jump out of ladder to avoid projectiles.
- There are TWO Endings in this game. Once an ending is reached, you must RESTART the game and play through the whole thing to get another. (The endings are directly related to the theme and for that matter the game itself isn't too long)
- If you played my previous entry, you know what to do to reach not-so-obvious ending.

Thank you and Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#163Graphics3.69
#169Overall3.48
#170Audio3.19
#213Mood3.23
#223Innovation3.35
#291Fun3.19
#329Theme3.18
#365Humor2.56

Comments

CTATZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Hahaha. Super cool concept!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Wow! The intro was fantastic and the gameplay (although a little unintuitive) was interesting :) I'd like to see this with different "levels" or something and with a bit more forgiving learning curve. But seriously excellent job! How is working with unity? I'm considering switching :3

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Interesting idea, though far too difficult. I wasn't able to make it to the top. I really love the artwork and the music is fun, though.

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Awesome! Didn't get terribly far, but love that I'm dealing with a boss battle right out of the gate.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Art is great! I love it!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Thanks for the comments! I really didn't know the game was unforgiving until I started hearing about it :(

@zconnelly13
I would encourage you to hop on the Unity wagon :)

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

I like the Cave Story style graphics and audio for this game, and the idea fits the YOGO theme well. If this was further developed into a full game with the same style, I would probably buy it. :)

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

Some weird hitboxing and issues with jumping and avoiding missiles but other than that, pretty neat idea and game.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Nifty. Sometimes it seemed a little hard to hold onto the ladder. Otherwise, solid effort.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

I like how simple this is. The missiles are really hard to dodge other wise its pretty fun.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

Very fun, and gorgeous pixel art. I couldn't make it to the end, must have died ten times on the rockets that come down vertically. Would love to see what came next though, the screen shot that looks like above ground is teasing me!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

@zzzev Due to many people pointing out the difficulty of the game, I uploaded 10 Lives version without touching the original submission.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

I love what you did with the theme. Very cool.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

Game play was a little rough (being able to climb off the screen confused the heck out of me). Art style was great as was the music. Lots of potential.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Really nice. Very polished. Adorable. But hard as nails (to it's detriment).

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

Good take on YOGO. The theme didn't give a lot of liberty this year, and it's cool to see people who did something other than one (minute/bullet/character/weapon/life).

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Really neat take on 'on-the-rails' gameplay. Catchy backing tracks too!

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Good take on YOGO. The theme didn't give a lot of liberty this year, and it's cool to see people who did something other than one (minute/bullet/character/weapon/life).

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14am

Very unique concept, I enjoyed it while it lasted. The art is awesome as well. Good job!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Nice dodging game~ The graphics looks nice, the overall gameplay is fun. Well done.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26am

@tklovert The theme was too limiting for mechanic innovation so I tried it on ending instead. Unfortunately, the mechanical flaw of the game overshadowed that attempt :/

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34am

Amazing artwork and an awesome take on bullet hells, great work. Also, good call on adding more lives, 3 was just brutal (not that 10 is much easier). I hope to see a whole 'line' of these.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01am

Graphics and sound are slick, gameplay is really neat, overall very well done. The gamer in me tried (and failed repeatedly) on the 3-life version. Them missiles.

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

@WhoaConstrictor

I'm starting to think whether I'm not only person who can clear 3 lives version without dying a single time.

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50am

collision checking could be more forgiving. But a cool game overall, liked the story :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

I like this a lot. Although it's really hard.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I really like your sprite for the Boss thing, I think most of the "fight" mechanics are pretty good, But the "Jump off ladder and get back on" mechanic feels more like a "Well shit that kind of works" Than an actual action.. It's incredibly clumsy and just became frustrating when it didn't work for the fifth time.

Overall I am impressed though, you have music, you have a storyline and you have a generally good game concept - The only thing I would've liked would be some more polished mechanic to avoid the missile going right down the ladder.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Cool concept and gameplay but when you die (all 3 lives) sometimes boss attacks launch when you are on the ground, dont know if that is intentional.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Cool game, but those damn rockets!!!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Cool concept, and really well executed. I like the limitation in controls and the gameplay felt like the right level of challenge. The story aspect of this was actually pretty satisfying as well. Only complaint is that pressing up while falling didn't always catch the ladder right. Great work!

MyFrosch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I love the art :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Great graphics... it scared me a bit!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Hah, its even got a story. Good job dood.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

Fun game! really liked the concept

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

Cool game, liked the theme! Very difficult though.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

nice!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

great game. rough choice. solid gameplay. well done.

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42am

fun game, reminds me of oldschool megaman lol

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Great game! I like it!

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

The two endings are so sad, I tried to press Left and Right :( Excellent game.

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very cool concept. I got both endings - managed to realize what I had to do for one of them on my first go without seeing your screenshot.\

I'd recommend reducing the bounding box size; seemed like I was getting hit by bullets. Also I didn't once successfully jump off the ladder and return... always ended up jumping to my doom.

Dohan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

This seems to be one of the saddest takes on the theme :(
Great game!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Great look and fun game!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Nice gameplay but what a sad ending..

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:20pm

that was crazy tough. Really like the concept. Always loved all the Contra wall climbing bosses and this is like a super difficult runner version of that classic gameplay. Did not properly beat in 3 life mode. Good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really cool entry. Was extremely difficult though, I couldnt get to the end. Art was great and I think the concept has a lot of potential!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:58am

Loved the animations and art, though wasn't able to make it to the top. The guided missiles got me every time. :(

Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Nice game, it's really challenging I love it !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]