December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Runner

by AtomicVikings - Jam Entry

Yeah! We are done!

Our game is called: Candy Runner.

This weekend was really awesome! We had a lot of fun making this game and we'd like to expand on this game in the future.

This game is a constant runner game. In this game you collect cookies in a candy filled world. But while you are collecting cookies, you don't want to get stuck in these huge cakes and brownies. So, you jump over them! You only get one key to jump. But, whenever you pick up a keychanger, the jump key changes to a new random key.


Manual:

- Pess the key described in the upper right corner to jump!

- Picking up a keychanger will change your jumpkey.

- Collecting cookies will add to your score!

- You can walk on the purple/blueish platforms. But avoid cakes and brownies!


And most importantly!

Have fun!

Greetings from the Atomic Vikings!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#26Graphics(Jam)4.43
#90Audio(Jam)3.48
#112Theme(Jam)3.30
#119Overall(Jam)3.46
#126Humor(Jam)3.03
#129Mood(Jam)3.35
#201Fun(Jam)3.05
#319Innovation(Jam)2.71

Comments

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Loved the graphical style and the audio! Really knocked it out of the park in design terms :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:50am

It looks so tasty ^^ Love that kind of artwork! Good mood. Thank you... now I want candy ^^

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

Really pretty, the jump felt a little floaty, but I probably just suck at it :p

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

Linux is case sensitive, files needed renaming. Changing input is a nice idea!

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

Took me a while to figure out what was going on with the keypresses -- at first I thought the input was breaking :P great artwork!

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

nice music and graphics!

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54am

I like it, the visuals are cool, and the "single action, changing keys" mechanic is pretty cool. Definitely an idea you could use to make a great game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

Your screenshots look so pretty! But I tried downloading the OS/X version and my web browser froze for a few minutes :(

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

@ JaymeeMak: We will check this instantly. :-)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

great artstyle! interesting concept

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Amazing! The graphics are the best I've seen so far!Amazing work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Love the art.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This game was really fun! I think the jump can use some physics adjustment. For one, it feels a little weird to instantly fall back down when you let go of your key. When you hit a "key-change cake" (as I now name them) I think it would be better to let the person continue pressing their current key (if they are in the middle of the air) instead of deactivating the jump mid-way through. The game play was great.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Very nice and pretty game! I like the mechanic of key-changing. Wonderful job!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Lovely artwork!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

The key-changing mechanic is a nice twist to the endless runner genre. Nice art as well.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Neat idea, it took me a long time to get the hang of the key changes. Really impressive art and sound. I like the parallax scrolling.

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

The game looks fabulous!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Very hard! Looks tasty :) I could go for a cookie - wait, not till xmas :D

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

It'd be nice if the new key were shown briefly where it was collected - it takes an instant to check it in the top-right, and it sometimes only takes an instant to die.

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Wow that's interesting! Loved the changing keys idea! And the graphic style is very fun.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Thank you everyone for the awesome comments! :-D Really warms our hearts :-D

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Great art.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

Nice graphics and good mechanics!! Changing key inputs while you're runnning... Great job! :D

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

Gorgeous art style, good job (:

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I'm playing on a Mac with Mavericks and the one button doesn't always work. :/

acerunox says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice game! Great graphics and audio.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Awesome game. Great gameplay and everything. My only complaint is that the jump doesn't feel nice.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great game!, Really like the idea that changes the control every time you eat a cake :P and the graphics is amazing! good job!

Also love your stream !:D

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I love this art style, and the audio sets up a very pleasant mood. The gameplay is a little bit repetitive, but a runner game is alway nice. I had fun for sure! :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I like the graphics. The collisions were a bit dodgy (can you avoid candy at all?)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

awesome graphics

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Really slick visual style. Seen a few runners where the jump key changes, but I like candy so this is my favourite.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19pm

As one of the hordes of people who don't read the description, I assumed at first that the input-detection wasn't working properly. I'd have liked the key-changes to be a bit more visually obvious, maybe another popup in the middle of the screen or something. On the plus side, the music and the distinctive graphical style work very well together!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:17am

Really fancy art, I like it :) The gameplay is not bad, but the key change usually comes before a jump, and sometimes it goes from '.' to F2, which are not close at all, so it's hard to react, since the change doesn't show at the middle.

The music is happy but it gets old real quick though, and the collisions fail a lot :( I'm guessing the boxes are too big!

Still, good job :D

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nicely done, this reminds me a lot of the old Phantasmagoria games by Sierra Online! It also was an ingenious way to get sound, animation and art in your game without having to produce a bunch of sprites or 3d models; I applaud your inventiveness!

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:30am

So sorry I had two windows open my previous comment was for another game! For Candy Runner my comments are:
- great animation
- really stellar artwork for such a short time
- the core gameplay mechanic of key changing is presented in a way that is difficult for the player to both see the key and respond to the jumps in a timely fashion. I might suggest having the key appear in the center of the screen (where my vision is) as a transparent overlay if you continue to work with the one key idea rather than work up the quasi-platformer feel.

on that note i think this could be a very fun children or casual platformer that would do well on a casual game site, well worth a bit more of your time!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:23pm

She doesn't blink.. She DOESN'T BLINK! All joking aside, this was great fun! The graphics are so sweet! (:D). The parallax scrollingness makes me think of a certain car game from last LD :p The only negative thing I have to say is the key changing could use some rework. changing from f1 to , is challenging and most of the time game ending. Also what code-11 said about changing the key mid jump.

eli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Wow, loving the beautiful artwork! It's extremely consistent and has a great visual language. Except for a few background pieces (like the cherry) that I thought were sweets.

Great work!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:32am

I loved the art, but the idea with changing jump key was more annoying than enjoyable.

GFM says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:40pm

At first, I didn't notice that one candy switched the jump key. I thought I had to avoid that one. So I thought that the game is quite boring, since I wouldn't be able to jump after a single mistake...
Well, I was wrong. Switching the jump key is an interesting idea! :)

And that graphics... it's awesome! So many layers on the background, and such colorful and happy atmosphere... quite nice! =D

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Great work!!! I love the visuals (although some of the font choices threw me off a bit). The game mechanic was a bit confusing at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was really fun and I enjoyed going through it. Jumping was a tadddd bit strange for me, but nothing that really hindered my ability to enjoy the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]