December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Rogue

by rincewind_cz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One Rogue - Graphical Rogue-like

Controls:
Movement - Arrows
Inventory - i
Health Potion - [space]
Select - [space]

Kill at least 'level number' of enemies to open gate to the next level. Grab one offered item. Repeat.

Notes:
Music is unfinished, no time, sorry... :-/
Download .jar file If applet isn't working for you. I'll try to fix that later.
Probably contains plenty of various bugs...

Would you like to see this on the Android? Leave a comment. :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Graphics3.68
#406Audio2.70
#539Overall2.96
#611Mood2.61
#641Humor1.93
#751Theme2.43
#759Innovation2.48
#779Fun2.43

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49am

White screen for me for Web version - strange!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

I also get the white screen!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14am

Jar works though!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

Yep, I'm aware that applet isn't working.. It was written in the summary and now I made it clear even in the link... Thanks for reporting it anyway. I will try to fix it soon (as I think it's more convenient for others..), but I have some another important things on my list right now. Just download the .jar file (which should work everywhere) and enjoy! Anyway.. I scored 149 few moments ago. Who will beat me? ;-)

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice graphics. Game feels very slow for a roguelike because of the animations between every step. And the floating text becomes unreadable on white backgrounds. Great job at an rogue game attempt in just a weekend :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

The presentation and style in this game is awesome! Simple yet addictive and also deep with the rpg element. Found it difficult to get past the first few levels when I would run out of potions and there would be none to pick up or replenish them. The lack of items is the main thing that makes this game hard as you are forced to attack enemies to reach the next stage draining your health yet there are no potions to restore it so you always end up dying sooner or later. Audio suits the slow gameplay well. Good game overall.

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Once you understand what id does - it becomes a pretty cool game!

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Wrong comment - this game is cool from the beginning :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

"Some shield: +0 defense points" - I was intrigued ;)

Once I killed enough enemies to proceed I felt that moving was way too slow as I was just wandering around searching the portal. Battles feel too random in my opinion. I would like to do something to win instead of just hoping ;) I liked the graphicstyle though :)

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very innovative gameplay! The first moments of the game are like "what? What do I have to do excatly to kill anything?". I will have a deeper look at this one, when I am home.
Graphics are quite nice. It would probably have been quite nice, if there was an indicator for when there was an action available: like when standing on that crowns.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Gorgeous! These are the best graphics I've seen so far, very simple and pleasing :) The game was fun too, well done!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Interesting art, very clean and original, the gameplay is slow-paced, but I like it, good job!

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I like how it prints useful cheaty data to stdout.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice idea, though I have to say it would be a lot more enjoyable/replayable if the character would just move faster. :)

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

niceee i like it :D

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

Love the art style for this one!

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:06pm

That was a neat game, I liked the sound effects and the enemy designs.

One thing that really bothered me is that the controls were a bit unresponsive - you should reduce the wait between one keypress and another a bit more!

Cheers!

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Love games like this. I would make it a bit faster but apart from that its cool entry. Graphics are clean and good looking. Pozdrav zo Slovenska:)

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Sweet graphics style. Got a bit monotoneous after a while, but I'm no roguelike fan, so I'll blame it on the genre and for rating purposes pretend I liked roguelikes ;-)

Also, please allow holding the direction keys down to automatically progress through the turns.

Overall great execution, especially the art style got me!

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Good looking rogue-like game.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Yup, as I only have access to my android tablet right now, I'm looking for android builds!

stefan says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This game has great graphics and is fun to play. I would have liked to hold an arrow key to walk instead of pressing it repeatedly, but this is just a minor remark.

Croze says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Didn't really have much of an idea what I was doing, once I got the hang of it it was cool though, just was a pain figuring out what to do

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:08am

Nice graphics and particle effects. The gameplay got pretty repetitive, it would be better if running didn't feel slow and the exit didn't feel so far away. But still a lot of fun!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:35am

Solid game. The graphics fit well. I played multiple rounds and once, the portal was spawned right on a stone, so I couldn't enter it. I think it would be better, if I could hold down the arrow key for moving field after field. Sometimes, the fights seem to be a bit unfair because you have to deal with 3 randomized items without having the chance to take any other opportunity to kill the enemies.

rosa89n20 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:57am

Nice rogue-like game, and love the art style! simple and sweet! :D

BluShine says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:08am

Cool graphics, although some sort of grid would have helped. I liked the idea, but it was hard to play. The text was tough to read, and I wish there were more indicators for remaining health (both the player's heath and the enemies).

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Fun game, great theme integration, and a good amount of polish for the time given. The only thing I have to complain is having to repeatedly press buttons to continue moving.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Excellent artwork and really nice feel to the movement - though it could be a little faster to walk? Excellent sounds and a good variety of enemies, environment objects and backgrounds - I think if I was spoonfed some kind of story this would also be nice

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I second the request for faster walk speed, but the graphics and feel are amazing <3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]