December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Amongst Traitors

by DeathBySnail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The King is dead.

On the plus side, we know that the traitor is amongst five people. These people have been gathered into a room, ready to bicker between themselves.

It is your job to decide who is the traitor, based on the arguments provided, as well as voting patterns.

At any time, end the game by left clicking on a character to declare them traitor. You only have one chance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#165Theme3.50
#198Mood3.27
#245Humor2.93
#351Audio2.80
#378Innovation3.07
#521Overall2.98
#690Graphics2.56
#698Fun2.57

Comments

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Very nice entry, I didn't get who was the murderer :P

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Great concept dude and amazing use of theme!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I uncovered the traitor! Wohoo! Nice murder mystery! Was not really interactive, though!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Wonderful presentation! The writing itself was quite good but the way it was displayed really gave some extra charm to the scenario.

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Yay, i found the traitor! Really good writing, but i'm missing some game elements to keep the player involved.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Wow, that was awesome! Great writing and presentation. Now I need to check out your other games :D

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Found the traitor! Good writing, not a lot of interaction though.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I picked correctly, but was disappointed that I didn't get to see the graphical result of my choice. I've already accepted that I'm a horrible person.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Cool concept and good writing. I just wished there was some more interaction. I also picked wrong. :(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

Really nice story and theme! I liked it :) I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

benjih says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Absolutely loved it. Excellent use of the theme. The music as well really works well with the suspense of the murder mystery.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Simple, but well done. Nice writing and story.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

Sounds are annoying, graphics are nice, music was great. It is too obvious who the traitor is, and that made me over think my choice. Good game! Unique take on the theme.

Dynad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

Really cool, watched it till the end where everyone was accusing each other.. till I saw that move over window which tells you how many votes someone gets which made it easier to find the traitor.. really cool game.. loved it!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53am

I really liked this idea. Great use of the theme. I didn't quite understand the traitor's motive, but it was a novel experience none the less. Vastly enjoyed all the blunt accusations.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very good concept ! It's funny, I made a project with the theme of the "One Traitor" too, and both results are totally different !
I liked the mood, and the feeling of clicking on each character.
I've encountered the same problem of the player being passive, but the analyse of each bubble makes us busy enough !
(don't hesitate to take a look to my "There Is Only One Traitor" !)

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Cool story!

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice story and nice graphics. Sounds are a bit annoying.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Cool idea, but there's really no definitive way to guess the killer other than random guessing. I also don't understand why the characters shake from time to time.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Great game, never caught the traitor but still fun. Our games share a similar concept.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I love the little finger puppet people! I keep trying to figure out if people were shaking with guilt or if that was a bug. Maybe take that out for more clarity?

LewisChaplin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

was nice dialogue not sure how i was meant to get the correct TRATOR but was fun

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Neat idea. By main beef is that I read way faster than the text trickles onto the screen. Also it would have been nice to keep all the conversational clues available for comparison (like a chat log).

npgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I loved the shaking, it was simple but added a ton of character! I guessed too early and wrong.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This is great! Good use of the theme, excellent music, enjoyable writing, and a generally cool concept. The character art reminds me of "Order of the Stick". I see no downsides to this game.

I didn't win (I'm pretty bad at whodunits), but I really enjoyed playing.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:34am

Amazing how much personality you crammed into those little block people. Well done!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Very interesting take on the concept however it did not grip me, the text was kind of boring, all i do is sit and read text, then click on someone to execute them, it was hard to determine who was the murderer?

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:17am

Nice game and good work writing all of the dialogue. It sort of reminds me of a cross between the show Survivor with the voting and the board game Clue. I played twice, guess wrong the first time and right the second time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]