December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Break Out!

by CodeHat - Jam Entry

HayHo guys,
first I have to say that it was a hard theme.
I really didn't know what I should make.
But here is my game:

Break Out!

Story:
You are a guy in prison and want to escape. The only thing you need is a special key. You have 120 seconds to get this key. Otherwise the police will come to you. The problem: "You Only Get One" keyboard key. These key will change every 3-6 seconds.

Controls:
Depending on what a key you get.
The possibilities are:

Left Arrow - Go left.
Right Arrow - Go right.
Up Arrow - Jump.

I hope you'll have fun :D
If you find a bug, use the comments below.

Programs I have used:
Game - Construct 2 Personal (HTML5)
Sprites - Paint.NET
Sounds - SFXR
Music - Pixitracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Theme(Jam)3.88
#96Innovation(Jam)3.38
#270Audio(Jam)2.87
#373Graphics(Jam)2.81
#408Overall(Jam)2.75
#439Fun(Jam)2.38
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Interesting concept but I found more frustrating not being able to do what I wanted to do. A good potential idea to think about though!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Interesting indeed. I'd really like to see a larger game with this design. I think it would make for very cool moments.

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

There is the key, just one little step, just give me up... left.... right.... left.... right.... key... GODDAMMIT

Cool game btw

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Really interesting concept. Strangely it reminds me of Glitch Tank. I'd like to see something similar in topdown perspective with the guards patrolling.

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Looks interesting, but not being able to do what I wanted made the experience worse in such case, not better.

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Unique concept, and you get high marks on the theme category, but I think the player experience suffered. I played through twice, and there was no possible way for me to win either.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice take on the theme but frustrating if you get UP only once and the keys never came down to layer one. You may should change the action selection to some pseudo random decision.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Good game!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Liked the graphics and the concept. Allllmost made it to the key, only to have it teleport to another platform within seconds of the timeout.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]