December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fill-In Fantasy

by frogcheese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk around the overworld and level-grind against monsters, old-school RPG style. The catch is that you can only level up once, and the improvements you receive depend on how you fight. The goal is to fight monsters until you level up, then fight the boss at the castle.

The theme of course is you only get one level or level-up. You also get one potion so you can heal yourself if things go south, so there's that too, but what I said earlier is the main idea. That's where "fill-in" comes from, by the way; "fill-in" as in a "substitute" hero, someone who can only manage one level.

Game was made with LibGDX, sounds with Bfxr. The music was made in GarageBand. I used a GameBoy soundfont called "GBFont" by MaliceX for it, which you can find at http://woolyss.com/chipmusic-soundfonts.php. I didn't see any license information in the package I downloaded, so I'll assume that it's free for use.

Tested on and should work for Windows, OS X and Ubuntu.

Updates:
* 1.01 - Fixed the timing of the music since the looping was off by one beat. Also added what keys are used to play in the HowTo section.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#97Humor3.43
#275Mood3.11
#291Fun3.19
#328Audio2.83
#376Graphics3.16
#379Overall3.16
#451Theme2.97
#795Innovation2.42

Comments

shard123 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

I liked the idea and the art style, it would be cool to see you expand this with more features.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

Love the graphics, style and audio! Gameplay is very grindy, obviously, but given it's kept short it's still fun til the end.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:47pm

More content would be great, particularly more choices in combat. Still, a solid game.

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very polished and nicely done! I couldn't really figure out how my playstyle affected the level up, and ultimately the dragon killed me. I little bit more feedback from the game on this would have been nice. Otherwise really enjoyable :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I just have to mention the humor, which is .. humorous :) Everything else is also very pleasant!

godan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Really good! The pace was nice and fast. More features would be cool to see!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Nicely done. I like the style and gameplay.

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Cute and pretty funny too :)
The gameplay would need more work to turn this into a real game.

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:54pm

The idea is cool but the game could benefit from a little bit more feedback during the fights and when the level-up occurs. The enemies really made me laugh :D

acp_ld says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:02pm

great entry, everything is really well put together

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Cool art style, great tune and some original monsters. Nice to be fighting "disabled angels" and "rats with attitude" rather than the usual orcs and goblins.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

YEAH! Annoying random encounter FTW! :D But seriously I think the art style is perfect for the combat phase, but not so much in the world map. Also to add to the whole "one" theme, the world map is a single frame

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Not exactly my kind of game, but looks and feels like a solid and finished piece of work. Good job!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Hehe nice game ! Great work!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Ha ha ha! Awesome! I played two levels, doing mainly magic the first time and _only_ running away the second. Running away didn't seem to make me better at anything, though. Is there a way to win by evading all encounters (I guess that's a victory in and of itself?).

Anyway: superb.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Interesting art style. The gameplay itself is too grindy for my taste. Would have liked it if I had more options, like different spells for example.

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I liked this

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Ah, what the hell, I liked this game so much. 5 stars!
I loved the simple graphics, I loved the humor, I loved that you really had only one level up and the music is catchy as h*ll!
Maybe not the most innovative of games, but who cares?
Now I'm gonna try the 100 meter dash dreams.

bodsey says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Well, overall it's pretty great entry, from art to sound. Not especially my cup of tea, but I recognize it's fine work, well done.

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very nice! I would probably play further if you kept Laif's gained level on complete and multiplid enemies' properties a bit :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I really liked the writing in this - good marks for humour!

It was quite annoying that the text lingered for so long at the start of every encounter with no option to skip it and then, on beating the game, the text automatically advanced slightly faster than I could read! (hint: always make your text slow enough for dyslexic people but always with a button to breeze through it as fast as desired ;))

saulopz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nostalgic RPG and good graphics. :D fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]