December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crystalline

by X-0r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[Post Compo changes]

Due to a lot of feedback, I've updated the controls.

LMB - Shoot
RMB - Shield

I also changed the "Repair" buttonname. It technically only returns resources to the planet. To actually improve your armor status, click "Armor +"

Also, shield now takes precedence over all other commands.
That means, you can keep LMB pressed, and activate RMB only
for a split-second to dodge shots.

I'm not 100% sure if these changes are allowed to count towards the rating - therefore, I labelled it "Post-Compo".
The original SWF for the compo remains the same.

[Development]

Blender: Constructing, rendering, texturing of 3d models
REAPER (engine, wavedraw): SoundFX
FlashDevelop: Coding
Compiled Flash AS3


[Intro]

This game is a 3rd person action shooter.

You are the leader of the Xorians, an alien race, who is overwhelmed by humans, who already devastated their own planet.

You clearly need to show them, that they only get *one* planet to destroy!

Stop the humans from draining your planet's crystals!


[Controls]

WASD / Arrows - Relative movement (no time to implement absolute =/ )
Mouse - Aim

Space - Fire (Uses one energy per double shot)
Shift - Shield (Uses a lot of energy, but annihilates incoming shots)
Q - Mine (Works on debris and crystals - mining crystals will reduce your planet score, though)


[Summary]

The humans have errected a mining outpost.
You can see two structures: One is emitting light mechs (They will drain the planet's crystals by 250 per unit)
The other is a resource collector and constantly mines resources off your planet.

If you destroy an enemy, it will leave debris behind - you can convert that to energy (and somewhat recycle the stolen resources)

At the end of a level (all units and structures destroyed),
you can upgrade your unit. The prices aren't really balanced, you are more likely to lose due to your planet running out of resources than due to actual destruction of your suit.


[Planned, but abandoned / incomplete features]

Mute button
Collision / Layering with structures
Randomized Levels
Scrollable and larger map to play on
More types of enemies (graphics rendered, but never added to the game)
Intro movie of the destroyed earth (somewhat underlining the theme)
Lots of additional weapons, maybe even customizable
A preloader
A soundtrack. I'm really sad that I actually didn't compose any music at all for this game. Well, at least I designed all my soundeffects on my own...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#395Graphics3.12
#540Audio2.41
#623Fun2.69
#690Overall2.78
#701Humor1.80
#785Mood2.32
#878Innovation2.21
#956Theme1.87

Comments

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

I really like this one. The controls are a little bit hard to understand in the beginning, but after I figured out how to play, it was really fun.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02am

Nice and hard! Fight, defence, mine, upgrade... It is really cool! But it is hard to controll this robot

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11am

Balance between shield, mining and shooting/moving is great as I had to quickly decide what to do, makes for a difficult game which I like! But I think it is let down a little by the controls, a twin stick method would have worked better or absolute movement as you described :) Good job!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

It's hard to keep your hands on the mouse, the space bar and WASD at the same time.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

i like this! but it would be better if you didn't have so many controls, also maybe if you regenerated energy? i had zero energy when i got to second level :/

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

That's because of my hacky upgrading system... "Repair" means "Repair planet", you spend all your energy to increase the resources which the humans are mining (I should have probably ommited that option, since you just lose the time you actually spent mining in the first place). To repair your damage, you need to click the "Armor+" button.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Would have been a lot better if firing was with the left mouse button. Other than that, I really dig the art style. It reminds me of those stop motion videos somewhat. Great job!

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Good one, but the controls relative to the robot are hard to manage. Also, why not attack with the mouse we are using to aim? the spacebar is so far! :)

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

The controls are hard to manage. The game looks good and I like the sounds. Good job

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I'm just getting a black screen for the web version

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Ugh. The controls. I guess I'll never manage to make them intuitively correct. At least I know what I need to focus on during the next LD. :P

The reason for using the mouse to aim, but the keyboard to shoot is... I'm still not very experienced with events. I already needed a helper function to even toggle the key between pressed and not pressed - which is why I just assigned another key as the fire-button into the already working switch-statement.
Aiming is easily done without anything like that... just calling mouseX, and you already get the relative x-coordinate.

Sorry for the inconvenience =)

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Oh I should have read the text on here about collecting energy from debris. I was just panicking the whole time and performing pretty abysmally.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Not a huge fan of the controls, why won't the left mouse button shoot if it's a keyboard and mouse game :(?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

Cool game with nice graphics. A bit chunky controls, though it was still a lot of fun. Good luck!

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:34am

yo i gave up at first when as soon as i started playing, i didn't get the controls at all, but then i read the comments and people liked it, so i gave it another shot and i get it now. its cool how you can strafe an enemy just by holding one button down, i really wish there was more to do in this game, maybe a big level to explore and such.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Post-Compo version with improved mouse controls is now online. I'm not really sure, if we are "allowed" to make these changes. You might want/have to rate the game according to the original SWF - therefore, I put [POST COMPO] to the link.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The movement controls are rather off. I had problems with that most of the time.
The idea is nice though, and it was fun! Of course, shooting stuff is always fun. :P

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:34am

Funny!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:45pm

That was cool. I'd like a larger stage, and does it repeat for every level? It took me awhile to realize that you need to destroy the base. I like how there are different goals you have to think about, and mecha is always cool.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I love the art and the animations in this game. It really has a unique look and the look is complete. The control is a little strange at first but it quickly becomes intuitive. Its a shame you didn't put a little bit more effort into the in game GUI. I really think you should.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:34pm

@Ras: Yes, unfortunately, there is only one level with increasing difficulty. I had a huge map in my mind initially, then I thought of linking together a few small ones... but I never came to that point.

@doctor: Yes. I agree. The GUI isn't really... existing (unless you count floating text). I had a lot of sci-fi style ideas, but never got to realize them on time =/

Thank all of you for your comments, they're helping me a lot to improve my future entries, and my understanding about what people expect in general :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Odd conrols, it might be better to go with twin stick controls. Interesting concept however.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I had fun with this! It took a few goes to get the controls down but, it's a big robot, I assume that would really be the case. Nice entry!

Jacic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31pm

The controls were strange and took time to get used to, but I like the idea.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Fun little game - not very touch pad friendly, but I managed to survive a few levels nonetheless. Good job!

Nut says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:34am

The relative-movement controls were really difficult to use, but the concept is interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]