December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ArenaFighterz Game

by Rothens - Jam Entry

Our first try to make a game. The engine is completely self-made. The idea is: try to survive in the desert, but you have only one bottle of water.
If you start to dehydrate, you'll start to feel dizzy.
Keys:
cursor keys-movement
D - drink
Collision now works as intended.
We made a post-jam version, it already fixes some of the lag issues, we'll try to fix more. Currently the sound library eats the most CPU time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#321Theme(Jam)2.63
#331Humor(Jam)2.11
#343Audio(Jam)2.58
#405Graphics(Jam)2.69
#481Fun(Jam)2.19
#491Mood(Jam)2.00
#496Innovation(Jam)2.13
#525Overall(Jam)2.19

Comments

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54am

As much as I may have a rather old computer, I don't think the FPS I was getting (10) were reasonable. That, and the collision detection made it nigh unplayable for me, as I basically couldn't get out of the first hole I fell down. The graphics were also kind of glitchy, although the idea was good. If it was performing better, and had better collision detection (collision detection is basically the heart and soul of platformers), it would probably be enjoyable.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Urgghhhhhh, I want to play this so badly! But it just errors out :( I opened it up via the terminal so I could share the error message (below) in hopes that this helps.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Downloads/ArenaFighterz/LD28-ArenaFighterz/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Downloads.ArenaFighterz.LD28-ArenaFighterz.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Thanks for sharing, I'll take a look :)

Jan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36pm

First impression was good. But game is unplayable because I constant got stuck in the walls.

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

@zconnelly13 : did you unpacked the whole zip into one folder? It works for me perfectly on Linux and Windows too
@Jan : yeah.. sorry.. We're constantly trying to fix the collision, but we didn't found out why it's bugging sometimes (eeerm... always....)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I like the water mechanic. But hey what's wrong with being a little dizzy?

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I liked the idea with the water- A nice alternative to a timed level. The game played well enough on my system, but a little simple physics wouldn't hurt. The movement made it very painful to make some of the jumps.
All in all a decent game for a first try. Good job!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The game seems nice, the mechanics sound great but it's really hard to play it with the very low FPS I get.

FPS was like 30 at first, but after a while (when screen effects kick in) it goes down to 4 or 5, making it completelly unplayable.

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50am

Not a bad game, but i find controls a little unresponsive

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

As @Seigeengine pointed out, it has some tech issues that really harm the playability but with more work it would probably be a good platformer.

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Seems like my system doesn't like java at all.... Newest Java version installed. Doesnt even throw an error. :(

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:26pm

@dudsen: what OS do you use?

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Graphics are nice and music and sound were great. However, i have a beefy computer and it ran at 22 fps. Not the best speed for a sidescroller.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Physics were super frustrating. I thought the visual effects of the sand and thirst were cool.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:29am

Nice little game, but I also experienced the low FPS problem. Sure it'll be better with higher one ! Good job !

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Can't start it either :-(

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:24am

It's really cool that the engine is self-made. It suffers in terms of optimization of but that's not too bad. Jumping sound is a bit annoying, and physics are not really forgiving. But nice job for the rest! I especially liked the background graphics.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:13am

I like the idea of particles and all but it should be adapted for slower computers. My fps rate was a little low. But nice job! With optimization and more levels it will become a great game

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:05am

The frame rate of the animations made the game feel really jerky, but the particles were neat!

Melkon says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:11pm

@_zulli: In lower pc-s less particle appears. The problem is that they (i just made the map editor) used bad sound system lib, and it eat the CPU's reasources. As i know without the sound the fps could be fine... however with higher fps you will get more particle so at the end of the day... :D

Melkon says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:11pm

*slower

zsomkovacs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:19am

Thanks for all your feedback!

Currently we are working on a post-mortem fix of the FPS rate, that includes a better sound library and an OpenCL port for some of the effects (particles, for example). We believe that with a faster sound library and some multi-threading (currently everything is single-threaded except the sound) and maybe with the power of a GPU the game will improve greatly at performance.

Collision will be fixed as well, it was a last-minute try to have it fixed, and while it fixed some of the problems, I managed to accidentally delete some useful code as well (working gravitational acceleration, for example), which needs to be re-written.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:36am

@zsomkovacs
I don't necessarily agree that some of those are necessarily appropriate steps. You shouldn't need something like OpenCL to manage any reasonable number of particles (I'm talking thousands, maybe as much as 10k for simple ones, or only hundreds if they're unreasonably complex for what they end up being in-game, even on older computers, with a whole game working with it), and this game really doesn't appear to be doing anything that should be that intensive, aside from maybe the distortion effects unless something weird is going on behind the scenes.

That sounds seems like trouble though.

Anyways best of luck. I will now try the updated version.

Yes, the new version definitely runs more smoothly, and I had less trouble getting out of holes.

Anyways, just offering my opinions. ^^ Best of fortune to you all.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The game didnt work for me, but I liked the audio I mentioned it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

Rothens says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

@Jupiter_Hadley hey, thanks for the mentioning :) I really appreciate that ;)
Can you tell me about how the game is not working? I'd like to fix that :D

Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I really like the visual diversity of the game (although I didn't get further than level 2 :/), and the music is quite cool. But as many people here I found the physics a little frustrating unfortunately. FPS was around 20 for me, so not ideal but still playable.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

Not bad, I really like this music, but I have unstable FPS and sometimes game is reaaaally slooow, but overall this have potential ;)

tomc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:34am

Backgrounds were nice, music was nice (where's that from?).

But sometimes when I hit the up key she didn't jump. Are you perhaps polling the up key instead of detecting it as an event?

Also, those one-block-wide platforms I'm supposed to jump on are impossible, or the girl's hitbox is too narrow.

Rothens says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

@tomc The music is made by HavocS :)
The keys are detected as an event, which sets an element of an array to true. (So it won't mess up the already messed up game loop). I didn't have any problems with the jumping, but I'll take a look.
If you mean the second level's narrow jumps, yeah... that's a pretty hard and nonsense level :D Not impossible, just takes a few tries. But maybe we have to redesign that level..
Anyway, thanks for the comment, and thanks for trying our game ;)

DST says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Very well done first entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]