December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishbowl

by auto_suggestion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about making (sometimes permanent) choices. Many games that I have played involve making a choice to stay in the confines of what you can see, or to venture into the unknown. From my personal experience, many modern games do not allow you to venture far from a linear path. In this game, I've (hopefully) emphasized on this choice.

If you have any comments or find any bugs, tweet at me @ayyang9.

SIDE NOTES
- I programmed this thing from scratch using LibGDX, a Java library. I used some code structures from what I've learned using LibGDX in the past, but all the code came straight from my head.
- I did assets with Adobe Photoshop CS6.
- I didn't have time to add sounds, music, or any substantial fluff. It's more barebones than I would have liked.
- There's not enough level design, I know! I spent the majority of my dev time on the engine and art.
- Sorry I didn't have time to package anything but an executable jar. You'll need the latest version of Java installed. You can run the same jar across Mac/PC/Linux though.

PS first completed Ludum Dare, managed to make it to the compo! Back to studying for finals :\

EDIT: Post mortem write-up on my blog! Check it out: http://ayyang.com/blog/2013/ludum-dare-28-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#154Graphics3.73
#220Mood3.21
#306Theme3.22
#323Humor2.68
#436Overall3.08
#471Fun2.89
#548Innovation2.84

Comments

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

Nice game. I stuck after get the fish bowl.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Cool concept of having to choose between the exit or a shiny coin! You could definitely expand on the idea by introducing some other difficult choices into the mix. Good job :)

Art was also quite pleasing!

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Took me a while to figure out that "E" also means, "go through the door".

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08am

Pretty art. Also, "Fishbowl engage!"

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08am

I really liked the concept, and congrats on your first Ludum Dare. It was mine too :)

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

I'm stylin' in my fishbowl hat, ya dig?

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

I'm a little conflicted here. I'm not sure if you were making a satirical jab at linear games and the fallacy of choice, or a legitimate game that forces you to make permanent permanent decisions. The stem of the confusion is that it is possible to get all the coins and get to all the rooms (unless there is something hidden I missed). I would have thought there would have been some sort of trade-off where it would not be possible to get everything.

Toning the metaphor analysis down though you have a solid game engine and a nice art style so props for your first LD entry.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Interesting!with some sound it would have been perfect

0x0961h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

At first I was like "Okay, I suffocated :c", but then I was like "fishbowl engage!" :D

Great work, pretty graphics and absolutely YOGO-gameplay. :)

onemoar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

Got three coins, neat!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

The art feels really consistent. and I definitely like the fishbowl feature. I wish it did something more than just be a hat though. Plus you can spam E to go through open doors if they are already unlocked

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

@McDonaldsWizard Oh, it's more than just a hat ;)

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:02am

A short fun and sweet game. Loved it. :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Yay, I got all 3 coins :-)

I might have needed a reset key a few times, had to restart the whole game every time. But sweet art and nice concept!

viinnyk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:44am

I loved how it looked and felt to play, but I'm not sure what my objective was or if I could win. Still, the use of theme was superb and I liked the message/moral I picked up

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Very enjoyable. Actually had fun playing this. Congrats on your first LD:)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Neat concept. I was able to acquire two of the three coins. Art is stylized and clean. Good work!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Really great work - especially for a first Ludum Dare! Having to tap E again to go through an open door was odd, it took me a while to figure that out. It says "you only get one key" ... except for that time when I was carrying three ;) Lovely graphics and great use of colour.

Blue Glaucus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:31am

It's simple, but enjoyable for what it is.

dkilford says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Good first entry, your first is always the most difficult. In terms of feedback what you had was good, you just needed a more content.

Being able to do more basically just comes with practice, but starting with a premade engine does definitely help a lot more. I hope you keep on practicing and entering!

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Fun and too short

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I really liked the clean pixels, and also the space room. I managed to get all 3 coins on my second try (I would've liked a retry key instead of exiting the game). This game is motivating me to go back and try making another (strictly) top-down game (probably exploration)! Though small, I loved the sense of exploration I got from this. I can imagine a full-scale game that requires you to make much big final decisions like in this game. Also, congratulations on your first LD entry! I hope to see more games from you here at LD in the future!

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I really like what you're trying to do, in terms of the permanence of choice and nonlinearity, but at the end of the day, it feels like a puzzle game with only one desirable objective (get all the coins) and one solution. Either to stick to the correct linear path, or you fall off and have to restart. Nonlinearity and permanence are much more meaningful when there is no clearly optimal choice.
Fishbowl hat is super cute though.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:11am

Really nice concept! I also made something about choice, check out Loop Desert entry!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Pixel graphics are great. The movement is good too. I liked that the first time a played I used the key on to get the coin and not the door to get out! haha, great job!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

really nice looking entry, great job and congrats on your first LD! i like the concept a lot of having to make these really obvious decisions - what to use the key on? i can see it getting more complex as the game goes and really becoming challenging.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19am

Interesting game! I lost on the first playthrough since I neglected door and went straight for the money (wonder what that says about me :P) but after that I picked up on the pacing of the game where I explored everything before I engaged on the cages. It was brief, but I think you did a great job for your first LD! :) (You should totally do a post-mortem for GameCraft ;D)

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:14am

Graphics look good. This is a very promising start for a bigger game. I didn't find it exactly non-linear though, rather it seemed to me like those old-fashioned games where you get stuck when you make one bad choice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]