December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one pixel

by Folis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

By strict definition this is not a game, it's more of a.. collaborative, social project.

I still submit it, though, because it fits the theme and I created it over the course of this weekends.

Libraries used were jscolor, jQuery and jQueryUI. Everything else was written entirely by me. If you participate in this project please share it with your friends or your followers on Twitter (or anybody else, for that matter), so we can fill all 10,000 pixels!

Thanks a lot,
Folis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Theme4.33
#6Innovation4.25
#150Overall3.52
#269Graphics3.39
#275Humor2.83
#446Fun2.93
#720Mood2.44
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This is .... abstract art :D
Neat idea, reminded me a bit of the million dollar homepage, but there you have to pay for a pixel :D

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

Nice experiment. I really like it :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14am

Awesome idea! :D

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

Wonderful use of theme!

drnick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05am

I liked it so much that I even created a bot to spam it!
http://gameprogrammersnotebook.blogspot.com.br/2013/12/my-code-you-only-get-one-pixel-bot.html

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31am

I liked the cat picture before you wiped it.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

Awesome idea, straight to number one Folis!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

A nice entry that uses the theme very much literally: You get only one pixel. The idea is cool and it seems people already tried to make pictures with it. I like it.

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It's very innovative.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Awesine experiment :), looks like it is used quite a lot already :)

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

A collaborative experimental art game. What choice do I have but to give you a good rating? I'm just confused about what rating I will give you on graphics...

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

It's an interesting experiment. Lets see what happens!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cute as hell :D

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Such a clever idea, it's amazing!
You should make this become a much bigger thing, it has so much potential and it's already really cool. Nice job Folis :D

samooJAM says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18am

I enjoyed every pixel of it

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nicely done! This is the sort of interesting-code-thing I wish we saw more of in Ludum Dare. (And hey, who says it's not a game?)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45am

Really great, innovative idea, and I was surprised to even see sort of a Christmas tree forming up there on the right.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Very cool concept! I love how the emerging patterns look like brain neurons.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Not a game, nut still good.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Very nice experiment! Good job!

rnlf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice idea. Took me quite long to figure out where I wanted to place what colour.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I like conceptual experiments like this in LD. Seems like something is forming there, it's not a purely random mess.

However, the first time I tried, it complained I didn't have a color selected even though I did. Tried again and it fixed itself.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:26am

Nailed the theme, Folis. nice. want moar frames to pixelate. more chances for success...

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:41am

Brilliant!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]