December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

intervalo

by Manuel Magalhães - 48 Hour Compo Entry

intervalo is a game where you move your character in a sole period of time. after that, the character will move with the timing of your presses.

controls:
-enter to set direction/change texture
-r to reset
(you can change volume with '/+, although i don't know if flixel hotkeys change depending on the keyboard scheme)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation4.14
#244Overall3.33
#498Theme2.86
#498Fun2.86
#554Audio2.39
#559Mood2.67
#702Graphics2.52
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Cool and it gets fairly difficult later. I like the idea and it is surprisingly easy to figure out.

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

enjoy the idea of a previous action affecting a later reaction in this boiled down representation - wuold be interesting to see how it would manifest itself elsewhere

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very nice concept you have here. My major complaint would be that the game is too short and as such doesn't necessarily explore the full potential of the mechanics. I feel like the game could have given me more with its wonderful quirkiness... :/

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

the main idea of the game is neat, but it gets super hard later (maybe i suck)

also i somehow opened the flixel menu by pressing enter

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

i really dig this. i can see the mechanics being expanded into something really interesting.

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:43am

Great concept! I had trouble seeing the markers at the bottom at first, but then I got it.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:47am

Very nice! I kept thinking I would have more trouble with it, but I eventually got through each level. Kept me interested. I'm not totally sure that the rotational period was matched up with the bar's period, though.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:14am

Surprisingly good. I mean, at first I wasn't sure about the mechanics, but it kept me hooked until the end and it was fun to play.
Could have used a bit more audio, and I don't feel a strong connection to the theme, but it's one of the most interesting games I scored so far.

bentog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Ótima ideia! Apesar de alguns problemas técnicos (às vezes fica meio lento com muitos quadradinhos vermelhos) e não ter muita relação com o tema, o conceito é muito interessante e vale a pena ser explorado. Bom trabalho!

Great idea! Despite having some technical problems (sometimes with a lot of little red squares the game gets laggy) and not being really connected to the theme, the concept is very interesting and is worth exploring! Good job!

bentog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:29pm

(oops, it looks like this website does not enjoy foreign characters that much. hmmm...)

ãáâóõôõéêíúç

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:48am

Clever concept, nice game.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Took some time to get used to but it's a really awesome concept. I loved how you only have one chance to time your presses.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]