December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Trail

by Orava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE TRAIL

Locate all the chests in the mazey interconnected building by following (or not following) your own trail.

----

Bringing down the axe at 36h in.

It's playable and winnable, but everything starting from the original idea has gone down the gutter so I'm axing it instead of ripping my hair out for (another) 12 hours.
----

Controls:
WASD/Arrows (movement, selection)
Space/E (selection)

Objective:
Cake (there's no fancy win screen or anything)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#384Innovation3.06
#575Graphics2.78
#656Theme2.59
#659Mood2.53
#868Overall2.50
#963Fun1.94
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:10pm

A little when turning after visiting a few buildings but kinda cool to explore !

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

I have found your cake and covered an entire room with my filthy feet dancing in celebration.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

I managed to open up a few chests. It was fun, but it got tedious after a while

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

A bit tedious, but nice!

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Footsteps are a neat touch!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Pretty cool! But gets a tiny bit repetitive/boring.
Art is simple and clean.
very nice :)

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Interesting to explore, but there is so little else to do.

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

I'm going round in circles

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

It looks very unique, it's probably my fault I didn't get the puzzle.

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59am

I like the footprint effect, but it seems moving diagonally really slows things down after several rooms of walking.

Several says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:26am

I played long enough to get the cake.
I liked the footprints.

Seemed a bit odd that you could pick a door that you didn't walk to.

Kind of an interesting experiment. A little too abandoned, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]