December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

John Power

by Anoarith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a game where you choose one power between three at each level.

It's my first game with Game Maker so there's some bugs here and there and it's kinda short (I guess x)). Also, I don't know at all how to export the game for Mac or Linux.

I also didn't have the time to make my own music so I used the music Go Cart by Kevin MacLeod (an awesome guy making royalty free music if you don't know him yet ;)).

I hope you'll enjoy :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#51Fun3.71
#133Theme3.57
#175Overall3.46
#211Audio3.09
#317Innovation3.17
#413Humor2.44
#619Mood2.59
#642Graphics2.66

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Controls were tight and responsive, and what a catchy tune you selected there! I had fun playing this one!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Really nice and responsive controls! I had fun also. :)

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Nice!! it's fun :D

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I like the one power system (similar to my game)! It is also quite hard which is great!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Very nice use of theme, fun, challenging... great job dude!

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

Really fun + challenging. Only complain is that the enemies spawn don't reset

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Saaadface. This looks like so much fun and the comments suggest the same but I'm on a mac :(((

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

Thanks for these positive feedbacks :)

I'm so sorry for Mac users >_<. As I said, I don't know GameMaker very much but I guess the pro version is needed to export the game for Mac :/

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

That was fun to play, awesome take on the theme! The last level was a real challenge :)

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

Coool *_* I love your take on the theme very creative! Good Work :D

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I really liked your game :D I spend 20+ minutes playing it, and i guess i could play more if I would beat every level with each power! :D Everything is ok, except some bug with the teleportation power and with collision at the side of a platform.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Challenging game!

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice and polised game! I liked the music!
I tried to complete the game without powerups, and I only used them on two levels.
Also, there is a problem with those curvy corners. Collision with them is bugged. I can't jump always, and sometimes I can't even walk off them.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38pm

As soon as the "power downs" were introduced, it went from great to amazing. The powers chosen for each level seemed appropriate, interesting, and cool. I really like this game, the creativity here is astounding. My one complaint would be the rounded stairs were hard to climb as I would sometimes get stuck on the rounded sections and get cheated out of a death.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:41am

Just so you know, if you have to use audio that you didn't create yourself, you should enter in the JAM where the rules aren't as strict. The COMPO rules don't allow for the use of music like this. FYI

This game appears to be very crude but it's actually very well crafted and challenging. Your choice of powers at the start of each stage changes which is a nice touch that adds an extra layer of depth to the strategy. Nice!

lilinx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:39am

best "one-upgrade" game i've seen so far in LD
feels like you can actually choose your gameplay and adapt it to your skills, it's an interesting idea

Anoarith says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:31pm

@SonnyBone -> Woops, I didn't know that. Thanks for the information.

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:46am

Good, difficult platformer. Great music!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:39pm

It felt so good to play and the game wasn't half bad.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:22am

Awsome game. Loved the music, thought the idea was amazingly simple, and the level design was good too. More please with polish and packaging. Well done :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]