December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cyclops

by jugglerrob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one eye!

Cyclops is a top down shooter that features 1 procedurally generated level and permadeath.

Get all the gold coins to win!

Controls
---
W,A,S,D to move.
Scroll Wheel to select your weapon.
Left Mouse Button to shoot.
Hold Right Mouse Button to aim.
R to reload (Gun will reload automatically when clip is empty)
E to open ammo crates (or T to quick take all items).
ESC to exit.

Weapons
---
Pistol - very accurate, medium fire rate, fast reload.
Shotgun - very inaccurate, slow fire rate, slow reload, shoots a spread of bullets.
Smg - average accuracy, fast fire rate, average reload.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Mood3.35
#195Fun3.36
#212Graphics3.55
#247Overall3.32
#367Audio2.77
#598Innovation2.76
#737Theme2.45
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Pretty challenging game, Not big surprise. The controls handle really well though. I'd only wish for a bigger field of view.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

I had quiet some fun playing this. Nothing too special but well done.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

I couldn't get this to run on OSX 10.9 :( It seems like it opens up for a split second and the closes.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Same failure on mac as funkor

Parasyte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

I also could not run this on OSX 10.9.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

but hey, works on windows! thanks for parallels and their VM

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

I can't run it on OS X 10.9 either.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Fun! I really liked the lighting effects.

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

The reload audio was a good touch, very intuitive.

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Wow, I didn't realize there was such a problem on OSX. Sadly I don't have OSX to test it out on a make before submitting.

I tried re-building the unity project for "Universal" architecture instead of X86, perhaps that was the problem. No promises though.

Wenzil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

I like how the pillars look 3d because of the shadow being casted. They pop and look awesome.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

Challenging and fun :)
Very nice :)

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

well made, I to made a cyclops themed game, good use of lighting and I liked how the enemies could shoot each other

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Nice graphics, had fun. Very nice

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31am

Nice game. It's so entertaining and the graphics are cool :D

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35am

Very challenging game, but very entertaining :) Funny how enemies hid in the shadow ^^

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I like art style!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]