December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Humanity's Last Hope

by stenol - Jam Entry

This game is a little space shooter made with Unity and the 2D Toolkit plugin. That was my first time with those tools. You only get one life to finish the game. The game have three ennemies waves. Each wave spawn more and more ennemies.

Here is the number of ennemies you need to kill to pass all waves. The Asteroids and all ennemy's missiles does not count has a kill.

Wave 1 : 10
Wave 2 : 35
Wave 3 : 90

The control are:
W : Move Up
S : Move Down
A : Move Left
D : Move Right
Left mouse button : Fire.

Have fun !!!

TODO after the competition:
- Add powers up
- Add more ennemies
- Add the story mode
- Make more levels
- Add boss

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#200Audio(Jam)3.09
#353Humor(Jam)2.04
#395Fun(Jam)2.52
#428Graphics(Jam)2.58
#457Mood(Jam)2.26
#476Overall(Jam)2.46
#504Theme(Jam)1.96
#547Innovation(Jam)1.53

Comments

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Ran fine, pretty repetitive could have used a power-up or two.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I agree, some powerups would have been nice.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Bit repetitive, good art though. Some power ups or upgrades would be nice, or some different weapons systems.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice little shooter, but I don't see the point of using mouse to shoot when you can't aim with it. I would've preferred Arrows + Space, but hey.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Overall solid effort.

Would have wished for more content though (powerups for instance).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Some lovely parallax! Did you like 2Dtoolkit? I've only used it a little bit for a test with Spine, but I think it's quite simple so far!

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Tanks everyone for your comments.

@OriginalBigDan
Yes, I like the 2DToolkit. There is a little learning curve to start but there is a lot of supports and documentations on the tool website. In overall, it's pretty easy to use.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I like the idea needs some variety to liven it up even more :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The mechanics were a bit sparse. But the sound was awesome, well done on that.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The asteroids can kill the enemies as well :). I like being able to shoot the bullets, don't take that out.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Cute little game. I liked the sprites and the moving background. It really does get quite monotonous seeing as there aren't really any different enemy types or weapons. Also the fire rate is way too high right now, it makes it a bit easy.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

Nice game! I would suggest that the ship moves a little faster and I think that there is no need to restrict the movement, as long it is on the screen.
Nice bg effects too!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

the ships could be a little smaller so it could have more objects on screen, also adding some particles in explosions for example would have made the game more appeling :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Once you get some of your listed additions in, this could be a really fun game. Good job!

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

You got the beginning of a great space shooter here, so a post-compo release with upgrades will be awesome; I would try and get more consistency in the graphics - don't mix pseudo 3D asteroid with 2D cutout art. The controls are great and responsive and the starfield is lovely. Great coding!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33pm

The ship moves a little slow, but otherwise pretty fun. I guess I need to play these sidescrolling shooter thingies more. The graphics were good, but the gameplay was repetitive (but fun as stated earlier).

meek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Enjoyable, but i would have liked to see the sprites a little more animated. The game didn't seem to signify when you were completing/entering a wave. So i wasn't sure how well i was doing

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Solid, but could do with more variation.

stenol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Tanks everyones for all your comments.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01pm

My Hi-Score: 19400

Simple but fun. Thanks for the game!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:02pm

i did not really see the sense in the game, compared to the theme. Although i kinda like these type of games, it had nothing to do with the theme, and got kinda boring with just the same things coming continuously.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Simple and fun game.
I think that the shoot button should have to be assigned to a keyboard key instead of mouse button 1 :P

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Seems like a typical space shooter, but well-executed. It feels balanced properly, but your desired additions would be great a could fit in nicely.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:45am

Solid shump keep it up. Just one thing if you allow me to move left and right then let me move on the whole screen, this really bugged me xD

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13am

Fun little game, enjoyable shooter that has solid mechanics. The art style is kind of cute and the audio works pretty well. Good job, I enjoyed it!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice classic game. Great work on sounds and music :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice work! There is a lot that can be done from here!

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Something to make the gameplay a little less linear would have been swish. Enemies that move differently or fire in different patterns would have added an extra element of challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]