December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tetris Jump

by Therrato - Jam Entry

Tetris Jump

Your task is to get from the Red block to the Yellow block. You can get there by placing Tetris blocks. But "You Only Get One" each turn.
after placing a path you can platform your way over there. Don't fall down or else you'll have to start the level over.

Placing Controls:
W and S: To move the Tetris.
A and D: To Rotate the Board.

Platforming Controls:
WASD to move.
Space to Jump.

Press Enter/Return to switch modes.

Textures : Peter Vrieling
Models: Peter Vrieling
Audio: Cristian Calin
Programming: Roy Schroder

Known errors:
some times a block will not slide into the exact spot

HINT:
Let the first tetris block slide against the Yellow end tile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Innovation(Jam)2.88
#307Audio(Jam)2.73
#309Graphics(Jam)3.06
#516Overall(Jam)2.25
#528Theme(Jam)1.80
#537Fun(Jam)1.69
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

So frustrating! Very unclear interactions. Controls are unintuitive.

Huge points for graphics and sound (though your legal situation might be sticky).

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42am

The sound is very similar to the original, but it has been changed by the audio guy till some extend. if it's against the rules i will change it.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

didnt udnerstand why the pieces mvoed sometimes, was confusing at first

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very confusing controls, amazing graphics!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Confusing controls, great graphics and audio.

MALHCat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

very difficult for me

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

okay, * note to self * so next time improve the controls

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:05am

Hard to figure the controls...

but the graphics are quite nice.

Congratulations

Therrato says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Thanks alot

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I couldn't figure out how to open in OS X :/

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:09am

I don't know if it was the camera angle or what, but when I was supposed to be moving I could not for the life of me figure out what was going on.

Therrato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:18pm

zuige, sorry i cant test that i don't own a mac computer, my bad

Therrato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:20pm

@crowbeak somehow the cam sometimes doesnt aim at the correct block on spawning, did not have time fix that, might have been better if i would have pointed towards the center. but thanks for the comment:)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very difficult to learn

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice idea!
The movement, especially the camera rotation speed, is a bit too sensitive for me.
The soundtrack is quite nice :)
Good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]