December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Turmeric Jam Jar's Only Game.

by local minimum - Jam Entry

We went all out on lush assets in this puzzle platformer. You play the spare-part mechanized doll with a sole purpose in life: To get a friend. But the only inhabitants you meet are quite dull or frankly not that interested in you.

You decide to redeem the hopeless situation with constructing a golem made out of bits and pieces that you find on your journey.


The instructions are minimal in the game, but here's a reiteration of the controls:

Arrows navigate you, mostly left and right. On a very special occasion you will use up.

Space is there for jumpy fun and Alt to interact with the world.


As promised, the game contains No Violence, No Sexism and No Cats (almost).
We also hear that we needed a frog in the game to make it whole. So since we did put a frog in it, we expect you to be happy!

The people who made it in order of IRL appearance:

Martin, Hanne, Anna-Maja, Björn, Skyman, Jenny.

--- EDIT ---

Post-Jam version uploaded that fixes issues with character control in original entry and adds tons of sounds, animations, and some particle systems. This is more or less how we hoped it would be!

Of course, if you are rating, you should play the original version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#105Graphics(Jam)3.98
#125Innovation(Jam)3.28
#232Humor(Jam)2.49
#269Overall(Jam)3.09
#319Audio(Jam)2.69
#369Theme(Jam)2.45
#408Fun(Jam)2.49

Comments

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

This game is completly mindfuck and scary ! This is actually a compliment ^^

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

This...is weird... in a good way. Graphics are very nice, but animations seems buggy (example - when you're on a high ground).

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I think i won't sleep tonight :/

Good choice of art, I made a game with collage before, but it was not this scary, good entry.

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I'm at a loss for words... Just, wow.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Jan Svankmajer anyone? Great idea, not so greatly executed unfortunately. I kept getting stuck on the terrain, and it could have done with an animation for picking up the objects. Also I didnt really know how to achieve the goals, lack of info perhaps? I might be a bit biased towards this because I dont like 2d side-scrollers. Still I loved the concept but could definitely do with some polishing up, but isnt that the nature of most of the results of game jams?

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

@skysthelimit Yeah we had to scrap working on the controller and camera, forgot some animations that we actually had and never got around to give the character some assisting thought-bubbles. The deadline was really hard on us... we're collecting a list of easy improvements that we probably will fix later on...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Interesting art style.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Disturbing. Well done!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

This is creepy :D Very unique style... Good Idea to use realistic looking things to create a fantastic enviroment. The controls are smooth. Good job. The Level needs some polishing at some places because i get stuck often ^^ Good Job

acp_ld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

great entry, im not sure how it fits the theme though, Art style is pretty brilliant

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

That doll is seriously disturbing! Great job!

JayProg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Awesome art!

srimech says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Excellent. It's got a really good nightmarish Terry Gilliam style to it. The photographic sprites blend in really well. Jumping around on the terrain is a bit frustrating but that's not a big issue.

I got as far as assembling all the body parts and getting carried away by an origami bird - after that I couldn't figure out what to do and had to stop there. I still really enjoyed it.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

This game has a strange, wonderful internal logic and, as you understand it, you are able to progress. This is a great thing! So many games have to tell you everything, this game lets you figure it out. That said, I bumped a pitcher to the edge of a ledge as I was jumping down, effectively blocking me from going back up ever again, so I was stuck. :(

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Soo crazy and scared! Good work.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Strange!! I like it! But semone bugs in moves!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Unsettling environment/visuals. Jumping was a bit unresponsive at times, but a minor issue. Very interesting atmosphere.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Woaaah! Nice collage!5 for graphics!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:48pm

so different.. i love it :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:22pm

We're going to take all the "strange" and "unsettling" (though we never aimed for the latter) as encouragements. And as this was in part an experiment to see if I could get my friends to join me in making a game, I think I've got'em hooked. Judging by the comments so far, I think what you like is their oddity-contribution. So next time we might actually actively aim to do something disturbing, odd and... and beware!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The visual style is really intriguing and immersive, and there is funny contextual interactions, but the controls are painful !

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I'm so lost in the game but in a good way that it was fun and just blow my mind ;3

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Beautiful style, but I kept getting stuck a lot. (literally, in the scenery) I love the whole aesthetic though.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:46pm

wow, really great art direction on this, i love that you used photos for all the textures - totally feels unique and original.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Thank you SO much for no violence and no sexism. You're the first LD to specifically mention no sexism, which is awesome. This is quirky and fun!!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

This felt like an acid trip, a good undefined one.

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice idea! I like the environment!
But it was fearfully for me)

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

awesomely unique graphics, quirky gameplay... i can't for the life of me find out where to get the spanner and stuff, but damn it i will!

jerombd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very nice graphics who create a intense dreamlike, surrealistic atmosphere!

lasergans says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Oh, so so scary! Liked the mood and art style

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Had fun playing it! Seriously, great game!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Wow!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I absolutely love this art style, and I think it really fit the concept of building a friend out of real items. Gameplay could be smoothed out a bit (which you know) and the puzzles could be a bit clearer. I like the abstract "figure-it-out-as-you-go" approach (and it worked for the most part), but the wisemen puzzle felt like it was just arbitrarily trying different combinations. But, on the whole, really good game.

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

@Atmospherium I finally got a bit better after a long harsh cold and started by having the wise men animate and play the instrument they like as they get it. I hope that will make it feel less of just trying around. Other than that, I'm not sure how to improve on that puzzle.

To everyone so far, thanks for all the nice comments.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Love the main character design.

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Creepy as hell, I only played the "original" version and I don't know if everything got fixed, but I have to say that the parallax feels wrong. The background goes faster when it should go slower, I think...

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Weird but nice visuals. The controls could use a bit of improvement but I see you already improved some for the post-jam version.

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Game with great atmosphere and unusual graphics. The audio is great too. I tried the original version, but got frustrated by the often not responding controls. So I switched to the post compo version and which works really great. I found all the parts, but some things are still unclear to me. One thing might even be a bug. Is the teapot supposed to fall from the platform? I had an object with me and could push the teapot with it.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I liked the idea and the art style, but I think it is a little confusing.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:16pm

It really does have a nice aesthetic to it, after getting a few pieces of my friend however, I couldn't work out if the idea to get to higher platforms was to stack the random items scattered around or if they all combined or worked with each other in some way.

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Okay, that made me laugh. Loved the way you used pictures. Also the main character scared me, in a good way. Animation was fine for me. Had a bit of trouble jumping sometimes.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice just a little annoying thing ( key press on down )

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:11pm

The artwork was really interesting. The control was quite hard for me. Maybe you should use up arrow for jumping and down arrow for interacting.

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:30pm

For those of you commenting on the controls, I agree completely. The originally submitted version had really crappy controls. A lot of that is solved in the updated post-jam. The key-mappings were, I suppose partly based planned to fit my left-handedness but as it is unity, if you play any of the platform specific versions you can remap any keys before launching the game at the screen resolution dialogue.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:21am

Very interesting idea, the weird atmosphere is really intriguing and scary. The graphics are great, high quality pictures. It's a very special entry, I'm glad to have tried it!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Really creepy. Had a few problems with the controls, but graphics and atmosphere were great nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]