December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

KERNEL

by CatOnMars - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one brain, but you have two hands.
This game intends to train your coordination between your right and left side of brain.
Can you beat it? Take this challenge!

*Note: many bugs still exists, but it is beatable. I'll fix them in post-compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#49Innovation3.83
#67Overall3.76
#103Audio3.41
#114Fun3.52
#146Mood3.39
#217Graphics3.54
#587Humor2.04
#716Theme2.48

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12am

Awesome!

Crusable says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19am

I really like this one. I liked the parts when you had to shift the guys but the controls were the same. Really challenges you hand eye coordination.

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43am

Very fun! I just wish there were a bit less drag on the controls. The game requires a lot of precision movements and it's weird when you think you've stopped moving but you're actually slowly continuing to move.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11am

Awesome stuff. Difficult! It took me a bit to realise I had to control two things since I could get past "KERNEL" just using WSAD.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

Can we get a download link too? Unity downloads work on linux, but not the Web plugin :-(

I'll be back later, thanks!

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I really enjoyed. Good graphics, good music, innovative and clever mechanics.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Looks beautiful, and an awesome idea... but wow, it's difficult!

My right and left brain don't like eachother I think! :)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14pm

@caranha : I uploaded the Linux builds , but I don't have an environment to test it. Hope it will work, thank you : )

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

mind melding

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I enjoyed this. However I think the round guy should carry less velocity after you let up the keys as very early on you need to make more precise movements. But otherwise neat concept.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Great game! Love the mechanics!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28am

I had to give up because it was too difficult for me but really neat idea and excellent execution. I loved the implementation of the title, the music fit nicely and it had a nice level of polish up to where I played.

ALL THE BLOOM.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37am

Awesome idea and so challenging!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26am

Nice mechanics, good work.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Very nice! Innovation beyond R-Type! ;)

EasonPai says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Viewtiful and Playful!

spx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Awesome visuals and some interesting concepts but those hitboxes are unforgiving.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Great gameplay mechanics and execution. This game had some brutal sections, good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:33am

Not bad! Title well presented. Gameplay as original but hard to play. Controls are very smooth.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:21am

Like the graphic style. Difficult!

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:18am

Awesome and hard. Very good job

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:20am

Great game, and amazing music and aesthetics! My only complaint is that controls are a little slippery, and it makes doing some puzzles really frustrating.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Thanks for the Linux Binary!

Whoa, this was a really unique game, I super liked it! The challenges with the dual controllers were really fun, and I felt that the map for the LD version was just right sized.

One suggestion that I would make was to add some sound effect feedback, that would make the game a bit more fun to handle.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:23pm

someone tried this game with 2 players? i think it'll be really fun!
i really enjoyed this. it's pretty difficult to play alone (that's the point, i know), but i think 2 players will nailed it. very nice idea and great concept. well done!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This is awesome stuff! Brilliant idea, visually stunning, and really challenging.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:03am

I have to say I really liked this one. I enjoy a good challenge from my games.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:38am

Very good job! This game is funny and the gameplay is rich!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:46am

The concept is neat and the level design was consistent, but IMHO the controls need to be a little bit more precise.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:52am

Great game!
I have some small things to point out:
The end room could be a little bit more epic; something like the room on your primary screenshot ("KERNEL" written with lasers).
After finishing the game bugged out a bit and placed the characters outside of the level, but thats nothing for a downvote, since it happened after finishing a perfectly stable game!
The colored walls at the end were a bit iritating... Especially the red ones looked like "don't touch me, or you are dead!". A more consistent style in wall coloring would be nice. Either completely white or completely colored, since both look great, but you know, the break in it may be a bit iritating to players ;)
Last thing is the controlls. I have a bit of practice in jetpack-like controlls ;) but they do not work perfectly with gameplay, which requires priceise movements. To be honest, after the secont checkpoint I wished so hard to have a button to make the disk make a full stop and not leave the laser, while I was trying to maneuver the other character ;)

Don't make too much out of my critics, because players always complain and devs always try to break it ;)

Besides that points, the graphics look really great! The game is really fun, because its sometimes a little tricky, but checkpoints are placed in a way, that prevent frustration and turn it into challenge! Great!
I really had fun playing the game!

Keep on the nice work!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nicely done, but very hard due to the floaty controls and the unforgiving collision detection. Loved the clever introduction.

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Wow, really impressive game. At the beginning, I was thinking it was an Ok game. Then when I realize that I could move this little circle to make my way, I was really amazed, great job !

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I agree with @veiadoida, this game would lend itself to asymmetric coop multiplayer. Using two hands is tricky! It took me a while to figure out that the arrows controlled the round thing and that the red letters were lasers. Because the player respawned to the gold checkpoint so quickly, it kind of looked like a ghost was shooting me when I hit the lasers. Those hazards could use a little visual flicker.

I did want more precise controls. For the tricky bits like moving the player and the circle together to get through a bunch of laser walls, I just pushed them against the top of the screen as the camera panned so they'd stay together. Seemed impossible otherwise.

Nice job on the soundtrack. The music loop seemed short, but it fit the mood.

The level design was solid, too. I liked the way you provided a sort of practice zone for the final race through the diagonal sections. I cheated through that, though; the game glitched my two characters together in the same hallway, so I could drive them through one tunnel together to the end. =)

At the end, it would be cool if the player could restart the game by driving over to a glowing replay spot or something, rather than automatically resetting on a timer. Player agency is fun!

The main character reminds me of the whales from Bubble Bobble.

-mildmojo

Sebastian says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

Cool mechanic, and rather well implemented I thought. I would have preferred tighter controls, but that's your call ;)

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Amazing take on the theme!

At first, I thought the shift ability would make the game too easy... but you used really well! :)

havana24 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Cool mechanincs, I loved the way you created the level design. It's fun and not easy!

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Really cool game. Nice graphics.

I took me a while to figure how to pass the screen after the KERNEL one because I don't know I could use the arrow keys to control the gear. I can pass the KERNEL screen without using the gear.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:19am

Love the dreamy graphics and atmosphere. Gameplay was solid too. I think there could have been some more interesting puzzles, but other than that I love the level design.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]