December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get Juan

by Croze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game there are 8 weapons to choose from, after each round you don't get to use that weapon again, and after you've used all weapons... Well, I'll let you figure that out :)

Controls: WASD to move, Left mouse click to fire, Esc to quit, M to mute my terrible sound effects, and Enter to play again after you die.

Pick up the Ecstasy (A blue circle that says "Sky") to get a powerup

In case you were wondering, all sounds were made with my mouth :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#245Humor2.93
#491Overall3.00
#498Fun2.86
#545Theme2.79
#587Audio2.33
#588Mood2.63
#694Innovation2.59
#838Graphics2.18

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

hahaha, very interesting :)

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24am

Big thumbs up for the pun. :D

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

I'll be honest, I was a little disappointed that all of the different weapons didn't have their own sound effects. I thought those were hilarious!

Overall it's a pretty standard top-down shooter, though a lot of the visual choices seemed to confuse me (what am I fighting? And where the hell am I fighting them?)

Unfortunately the game started to feel same-y after I tried out a majority of the weapons, and the footstep sound effect what starting to get on my nerves (thank you for the mute button!)

Still, this game has a surprising amount of different features and mechanics, especially considering the fact that it was made in 48 hours. Congrats!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

Great selection of enemies and weapons - they all felt really different. The minimap is a great add too - it works great with the slime trail monsters.

I would have loved to have started with fewer enemies, and see noticeably more with each round - it would have given me more to think about when choosing my weapon.

You've got your mouth sounds down, but just in case you want a second resource, this website is a great generator for 8-bit sounds: http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30am

I thought it was fun.

You should try to get the mouse locked on to the screen though, I kept misclicking on my desktop lol.

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

ColeSlaw - Yeah I probably should have added at least a *little* bit of background haha, thanks for the feedback! JoeProgram - Thank you very much haha, my mouth doesn't quite make the best gun sounds. tklovert - Not sure if that's possible, but I could have made it fullscreen; maybe I'll add in that functionality at some point.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14am

I knew someone would make a pun on Juan!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

Puns are punny ;) Nice job!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

Hah, that was actually rather fun, and the pun was awesome. Sadly saved the RPG for 3rd to last, and it wasn't nearly as effective as I'd hoped. Kept me interested for the duration of the play, even if it needs a lot of polishing. The concept is pretty good too, good job I say.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Didn't mute love the mouth made sounds lol

Croze says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:07am

Haha I'm glad you like my mouth ;P

burlapjack says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39am

I came so close to using that same play on words :)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:35am

Nice game. It's fun and have a good pun ;)

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Nice game) I had good mood)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I just saw your comment on my page, I wanted to say thank you very much and I wanted to elaborate a little more. Your game was cool, it's nice to see you took the time to code different type of ennemies, that's not that easy in a 48h deadline. The big green slim is a very good idea, slow down the player in a unexpected way. The circle following you is putting pressure on the player, that's important if you want the game to be challenging. And that weird square spreading his childs as he die, nice touch ! The funny sound effects were definitely a bonus :P It was a nice game to play, I hope to see you again in the next LD :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:36am

The game was really fun the different selection of weapons and enemies was a good touch, the mini map in the corner was also nice. As soon as I heard the shooting sound effect I couldn't stop laughing good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]