December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOB (You only got one Button)

by nyrrrr - Jam Entry

This is the first game we ever made. And since we aimed to finish it in 48 hours we had to cut some nice features we had in mind. We might add these features in a few days/weeks.

Also the art is not polished. I might consider an art rework as well.


The Team:
Zerano - Programming, Design, Bad jokes, Air contamination
nyrrrr - Art, Programming, Design, Sound, Bad jokes, Charivari

Music from Tommy Bulpa (Thanks!)

Source: https://nyrrrr.github.io/LD28/

'UPDATE:' The GameJolt version is now post-comp since we added the GameJolt Highscore system to it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#122Theme(Jam)3.27
#170Audio(Jam)3.19
#239Fun(Jam)2.95
#353Humor(Jam)2.04
#364Graphics(Jam)2.84
#387Overall(Jam)2.81
#424Mood(Jam)2.41
#514Innovation(Jam)2.02

Comments

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

I had fun it's fast, simple and he jumps really high. The soundtrack is well made.

It takes a while to get comfortable with the jumping but I think the game needs more art or more mechanics as it get's quite repetitive after a few tires.

Overall great job with your first gamejam.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Good use of the theme, simple to play over and over. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:35pm

The soundtrack is great and the game is quite simple but managed to keep me trying for far more time than what I'm willing to admit.
Hoping to see you polish this one up in the upcoming weeks!

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Simple idea. Game was pretty fun, and I liked the graphical style. I did think the jumping ability was very sudden. Would have benefited from other elements in the game such as items to collect or enemies to avoid. I liked the swaying camera.

d__adee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Camera movement may not be good at first but it pretty much becomes a challenge after wards. Takes a while to get used too :P

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Thank you all for playing and the feedback!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Yay nyrrrr! What a fun game I got to like 150ish as my highest. Good job mate! :D

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

AWESOME! - The music! It distracted me a few times.
GOOD - The 'tidal' platforms added an extra challenge.
NOT SO GOOD - The jumping was a little too quick. I also didn't like the background (dull).
BUG - My character fell a few times while he was at the edge of a platform.
IDEA - Enemies and power-ups!
CONCLUSION - Great execution of a simple concept.

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Thanks for the detailed feedback my friend :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59am

348m :)

Enjoyed this a lot :) Really loved the snappiness of the jumps - made it feel more intense than some other endless runners I've played. Also liked the subtle vertical movement of the camera - nice touch!

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38am

thanks you for playing ! :)

Niqle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:23am

rogueNoodle speaks my mind

Snuti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Loved the music, added a really nice atmosphere to the game.
Was a bit fast, but overall very good, nice work :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:47am

You know its kind of addictive to play this xD but the jump looks kind of exaggerate but its ok. The game fits the theme: one button xD... Excellent work! Love the dubstep in the background xD is dubstep right? xD

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:02am

haha thanks :) yeah I guess it is :D I'm no musician to be sure

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:03am

The height of a jump seems off compared to the length. Nothing interesting seems to happen in the game at all just a speed increase, would be nice with something that changed gameplay a bit.

y2bd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:27am

I feel bad for that dude's skeleton, he jumps so high and falls so fast.

Fun music!

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I died near 30 times before understand that the button is SPACE)))
I think that environment could be more interesting, but overall it is good idea)

LukuluK says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Good job for this first game. It could be interesting if the Player jump's height was controlable and less quick, and to increase difficulty, camera would be quicker.
But there is so much things that have already been done in "runner" genre, that it's hard to innovate.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I love the pace of this!

epb9000 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Fun concept, nice music, gets a little repetitive. Scrolls so quickly it gives me eye strain if I make it more than 100m, but still played a dozen times. Farthest run: 254m. Overall nice job.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:15pm

A runner without any new mecanics isn't very interesting but it's your first entry so good job.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:45am

very polished for a first game, well done!

nicotr014 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:58am

Really nice, I like one-button games... I actually played a few times before getting bored

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:31pm

thank you for playing :)

Aaants says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:00pm

That's some crazy powerful jumping and gravity :)

A lot of fun and looks really nice, GJ!

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice little game, my best score is 297! It would be more interesting with a little more content like enemies/p-ups but on the overall it's a great game, good job with your first jam! :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:25pm

thank you ;) we planned on adding enemies and power-ups. But we wasted a lot of time due to our lack of experience. ;)

Cheshyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:43pm

First thoughts... that's a huge jump. :-p Is is procedural? It didn't seem to be repeating. The music was a nice touch. Does the game speed up as you progress? I can't tell if it's the game, or just my eyes. Maybe different textures, so there's less eye strain? Well polished for your first ever game jam entry. I liked it. :-)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 3:48am

It in fact IS procedural. And it does speed up. Yeah, after submitting we realized the tiles might not be that good for an infinite runner. ^^

thanks for playing and commenting :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]