December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only got one... HUNDRED lives!

by RedPanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, I didn't finished this one. :(
My idea was a platformer with some impossible jumps, so you need to die and then go back and jump from your body to destination and you only have 100 lives for all game.

Main reason that I didn't finished is really me. I didn't had the motivation and the idea. It took me 2-3 hours to get to this idea, that don't even fit. And I didn't even managed to implement it fully.

I will most likely continue to make this game, outside of Ludum Dare!

Controls (because I don't have menu):
A - left
D - right
space - jump

Debug controls:
R - Die
F1 - Next level (careful, will crash after 4th level)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#284Graphics3.35
#285Audio2.92
#503Humor2.24
#518Mood2.72
#649Fun2.66
#676Overall2.79
#907Innovation2.13
#928Theme1.95

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Playing a platformer with your left hand is difficult! All in all, looks like a solid platformer. Too bad I can't get past the water obstacle. Also you get one what?

tzamora says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

Cool graphics

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Art is cute, reminds me of one of my old game :')

Cool-as!

RedPanda says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

@ambi You only got one... HUNDRED lives! The idea was that later in levels you will not be able to proceed without killing yourself and then comming back and jumping on your corpses to way out.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Graphics are nice.

I like the concept of killing the player off in order to make longer jumps, shame you didn't get that far (or I didn't that bit if you did).

Jumping gets stuck on the blocks sometimes which is quite annoying since the only thing you can do is drop down and try again.

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice idea, would have been cool to play that.

Clear and friendly graphics, the controls are ok (although left-hand platforming is quite hard :P), there seems to be some (maybe floating-point rounding?) issues with the world so every now and then the screen tears up a bit and the world "nudges" to some direction.

Overall, a nice little platformer!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Loved it. This was a rather extensive game, too, for only 48 hours! The sound was great and the art was amazing. A job well done. Also don't listen to the haters who don't like WASD, haha, arrow keys are for noooooobs :p (although it's not a bad idea to support both really, haha)

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I prefer snappier controls – but overall a really solid game!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Decent game, movement was a bit weird.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Its seem simple, but it reminds to classic platformer of 8 bits. Nice job!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Good work so far, it feld nice to play and the art looks cute. Too bad you didn't manage to implement the mechanics completely, that would be fun to try I think.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

oh, it's a shame you didn't make it, i really like it. i think flash or even gamemaker would have helped on this one. unity can sometimes be tricky to finish a 2d game. anyway, it's a good game concept, you really should continue.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:08pm

keep working on this game. I am sure you can make a great game out of this :)

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Love sound and retro-style-graphics, but the jumping action needs to be improved.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice game, there are some issues with collision and also some graphic bugs. You can use the bounce to get a higher jump than normal to get to hard to reach places faster. Looking forward to a more complete version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]