December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Eye

by kcpunk666 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move.

Conceptually, it's shit. Aesthetically, it pleases me.
And I think the controls are pretty nice.

Please enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Graphics3.65
#231Audio3.04
#278Humor2.81
#324Fun3.13
#339Overall3.20
#347Mood2.98
#511Theme2.83
#825Innovation2.34

Comments

haveric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Game plays really well, but with as much dying as I was doing, I wish it would have let me restart automatically or by pressing enter. I wanted to get back into the action quicker.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59am

Awesome blood fx & art, reminds me of meatboy. Gameplay is solid, but really tough.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59am

Looks snazzy, but full level restarts on death had me done with the game after the double falling saws section. There's a special kind of grossness to an eyeball character being mutilated, one that goes beyond words.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

Saw this over at the Construct forums - good work! I know how hard it can be to work on that engine and get the results you desire.

Music reminded me of a mix between Doom and Mario :D

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

Very clean platformer. Had me trying and dying several times!

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

A fast restart would be great. Tight controls and nice gameplay.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18am

Pretty solid platformer. Couldn't read the opening text that was black over the dark background.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

Nice graphics. A keyboard key to restart the level would have been nice.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28am

Eye really like it!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

Nice artwork and atmosphere, a great platformer!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29am

Clean artwork, nice audio, and pretty tight controls make this a very good (Meatboy-ish) game. Only thing that really threw me was how much faster you accelerate in the air vs. the ground. Great game, hope to see more levels (maybe with more lives too?).

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44am

Great game! Should make a key for restart rather than having to use the mouse

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:25am

I think I am starting to enjoy exploding characters a little too much...
Looks good, especially when the eyecube splats...

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Wow that's really hardcore (I kindda suck with platformers) ! I like the graphics and the gameplay is simple but effective, good work !

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

The graphics are neat, the music and the visuals work together to create a great mood. I did not like the platforming mechanics however. It feels a little too floaty, And I have always preferred responsive controls in these kinds of platformers.
It's a functional and very playable game though, good job :)

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

A lot of fun. Really difficult, so checkpoints would be helpful.

lparker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Really enjoyed playing this, though I did die a fair few times.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Fun and infuriating (kinda like Super Meatball). Loved the aesthetic. Only thing I'd change is make the eye move faster on the ground. It's more reactive in the air than on the ground and that just doesn't make sense. Auto restart would have been good too.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32am

This is absolutely amazing, I have all my friends playing it. I beat it first, so, obviously I'm the best ;) :D

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34am

This game is hard! graphic and fx is simple and very suit the game. but since player use keyboard to control, hope we can also use keyboard to restart level. changing between keyboard and mouse is kind of difficult.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice. reminds me of "super meat boy". Good work!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24am

Very cool platformer and art, the gameplay was smooth too. Nice work

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Nice art and gameplay but, as others said, needs a faster restart. It took me 7 attemps to complete it.

P.D.: We also used construct to make our ludum dare game :)

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I really like the game, I believe I managed to get past quite a few obstacles in the end. However, the implementation of the theme makes it a little too hard to be enjoyable in the long run - I did ragequit when I died and had to start all over after something I suspect was a pretty good run on the obstacle course.

Adding checkpoints beats the point of having 'one life' - but it would make it more enjoyable to me at least.

Adding some sort of hint at how far I've made it may change that -- as knowing that I almost beat it makes it more tempting to retry.

I hope you do more work on it.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28am

Pretty neat. Liked the graphics, and the movement physics were spot on for an eyeball, if that makes any sense. Plus I was a big fan of how when you died, your character gibbed up, and was all physics modeled.... That was pretty cool. :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nice! Well executed, good collision detection.

Beavl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:56am

Quicker restart (enter?) would be great, game is tough. Obstacles are well placed, nice level design. Congrats!

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Man, why so angry to LDers?
But I like such hardcore. Awesome!)

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I liked the crazy visuals. Reminded me of Abadox for NES. I'd recommend making the "lava" more pixelated so it doesn't contrast with the rest of the graphics.

It was a little too difficult in my opinion, but I enjoyed it!

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Tough but enjoyable, a solid entry. Big fan of the death animation, we went for a similar gory mess when our player fails, but I think yours is more effective since it's coupled with the phobia people have of getting sharp things in their eyes.

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I love the art. Cool platformer game.

davisan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Great game! Very hardcore! Nice level design and music.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:29pm

It's very difficult to win!! :D I like the graphic design and sounds :D Very good job!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Challenging game ! Great work !

michail says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I found the falling spikes nearly impossible to pass (and some of them were even staying on the ground instead of falling to lava - I think it is a bug). I also think the game would be more enjoyable with precise jump height control.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

@michail The falling saws I made as physics objects so if you computer didn't run the game at a higher fps there was a chance they would spawn at funny times and get knocked to where they shouldn't. I did this to save time. I agree there are many improvements to be made, but I like what was started. Thanks for the feed back.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Like the idea, and the retro dungeon style of the graphics. The foreground parallax was cool too, adding some depth. Would be cool if the saw rotation was done by animation in the pixel style you used for the rest, the same for the text/menus. Also - if it's keyboard input, leave it keyboard for menus too - nothing more frustrating than dying and having to move to mouse to restart the level when you just wanna hammer any key. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]